Icarus

By FearMyLvl, in Fan Fiction

Hi, i'm a noob writer and i tried my hand at writing a story.

i'm not finished yet but i'd like some feedback and advice before i continue to make sure i can correct any mistakes i made. Constructive criticism is greatly appreciated and i hope you guys enjoy the story!

“… DEVOTE OUR LIVES TO THE EMPEROR. LIFE IS THE EMPEROR’S CURRENCY; SPEND IT WELL. THE EMPEROR PROTECTS.” Ended the broadcast.

“The Emperor Protects.” Echoed the crowd.

I made my way from the crowd, the din of several thousand pairs of feet moving away from the hive square. The ceiling of the Lower Hive high above my head. I was bumped and jostled as everyone made their way back to their jobs.

I started to head home, but not long after I heard several pairs of footsteps behind me.

“Oi, Icarus!” cried a voice from behind me, I recognized the voice; it belonged to that of Cardius, flanked by his gang. I clenched my fists and faced my tormentor, his hair was short and unkempt, his eyes narrow and piercing, while his mouth was a thin line. He moved with as much grace as a block of iron, but he may have well been due to the hardiness of his limbs. Thick and built from constantly working at the local lasgun factory, he looked in every aspect like a thief and a hive urchin; but then again, all of us did.

“What do you want?” I answered, attempting to keep my voice steady but I couldn’t keep it from revealing a small tremor. He noticed this and replied, “Still angry about the time I stole your face in the dirt?” I kept silent; my eyes tracking his movements.

“By the emperor! You’re as stupid as a feral ork and smell just as bad as one too!” he sneered, eliciting laughs and giggles from his underlings.

“And you would know what an ork smells like? You’ve never been off this planet.” I replied,

“Sure I do.” He grinned, “One’s standing right in front of me!” a roar of laughter came from his goons.