Hello all,
Hope everyone's well. I have a quick query about Forsaken Lore - I'm not sure if this is a spoiler, but if you don't have it yet and don't want to know about it, don't read on...
For those that do: I've noticed a couple of things trigger 'monster surge', such as the new Rumour card. My understanding of a monster surge is that a new monster (or monsters, if you're playing with lots of investigators) comes through a gate. For the Rumour I'm thinking of, it's any gate on a space with an investigator; for green Mythos cards, it's corresponding to omen, as per the rules.
Here's my query: you don't have to encounter a monster appearing via monster surge on your space during the mythos turn, right? That is to say, it's not a monster ambush , it's just a surge. I've had a look in rules/reference, just to confirm, and can't see anything to that effect. I just wanted to check if that had occurred to anyone else.
In most instances, in my understanding, it means closing a gate gets harder (there's a new monster to tackle) but the investigator can still move away on the following turn (if s/he isn't delayed / detained / et al.). Thanks!