Which is a better starter adventure: This set or EotE?

By Doc, the Weasel, in Star Wars: Age of Rebellion Beginner Game

I'm considering picking one of the two boxes up to demo the game in the future. The people involved would be regular rpgers, but there may come a time where I want to use it to introduce people to gaming.

For those who have (or have played in) both, which of the boxed sets should I buy and why?

Getting the dice is definitely an advantage to both. If you will only get 1, it depends on the themes of the game you want to play. Having played through both I feel like the adventure for Edge of the Empire had a little bit of an easier learning curve than the Age of Rebellion. My perceptions could have been slightly tweaked because I have a lot of experience with playing Edge of the Empire.

They're both good, but I think that perhaps AoR Beginner Game is better suited to being a "beginner" game. It has rails, just like the EotE beginner game, but for some reason it just feels like "staying on the rails" is easier with the AoR box. Probably due to the whole military/mission aspect of the thing. Doesn't feel as forced, and that's really what you want from an adventure that's built to teach the game to newbies, IMO.

Plus the follow-on adventure is way better (again, IMO).

If you can afford it, get both for the extra dice and more options for pre-generated characters.

One thing to consider is how each launches your campaign (if you're using it in that capacity). Mos Shuuta provides the party with a ship that totally isn't the Millennium Falcon. Whisper Base, in the other hand, is far more open and nebulous. While the objective is to capture the base, the party could easily be given use of the shuttle as their starting equipment. There is even a mention about how many fighters the base could maintain, if you wanted to go for a squadron of Y Wing pilots and crew. The taking of the base could simply be the mission, not the set up for the team.