Card Clarification

By DrHeims, in General Discussion

I played my first 2 games of Eldritch Horror last night. The first game I came pretty close to winning but the doom ran out before I could get the last clue.

My second game started out strong. By my 4 or 5th turn I had 2 mysteries solved and half the 3rd. Then I kept drawing mythos cards that made me RETURN a SOLVED mystery to the deck ! I didn't know those kinds of cards even existed. So by the 10th turn I had 0 mysteries solved and doom ran out. lol.

Anyway, on to my Card Clarification question:

Last night I drew:

"Secrets of the Past"

with reckoning:

" Search the expedition Encounter deck for each card corresponding to the Active Expedition and return those cards to the game box. Then, if the Expedition Encounter deck is empty, investigators lose the game ".

My question is, once I do the reckoning effect, I will obviously get a new pictured Expedition Encounter card because the current type are all put in the game box, so do I move the expedition token to the new area? Because it also says on the card "an investigator on the Active Expedition space may attempt to..." solve this rumor.

So basically I can't solve the rumor unless I'm on the expedition token and if it keeps moving, that's so difficult to catch up to with only 2 investigators.

Sorry, I have 1 more question. This is not so much about a card, but about a monster.

I had a zombie monster out. With a reckoning effect it turned into the Epic Monster Zombie horde and I returned the zombie token to the monster bag.

Later I drew the zombie again. Yet again the reckoning effect said the new zombie should turn into Zombie Horde. HOWEVER, the epic monster Zombie Horde was still on the game board undefeated from a few turns earlier.

Because of that, I just ignored the reckoning effect and left the Zombie Horde on it's original space and didn't resolve the new regular zombie's reckoning effect.

Was that the correct thing to do?

My question is, once I do the reckoning effect, I will obviously get a new pictured Expedition Encounter card because the current type are all put in the game box, so do I move the expedition token to the new area? Because it also says on the card "an investigator on the Active Expedition space may attempt to..." solve this rumor.

Yes, you need to move the expedition marker. This can be one of the harder rumors to solve with fewer investigators. Some possible strategies (neither are optimal):

  • Track how many reckonings are left in the deck - you may be able to just ignore this.
  • Instead of chasing the expedition marker, park an investigator near one location where the marker may move - and then pounce when the marker moves.

Sorry, I have 1 more question. This is not so much about a card, but about a monster.

I had a zombie monster out. With a reckoning effect it turned into the Epic Monster Zombie horde and I returned the zombie token to the monster bag.

Later I drew the zombie again. Yet again the reckoning effect said the new zombie should turn into Zombie Horde. HOWEVER, the epic monster Zombie Horde was still on the game board undefeated from a few turns earlier.

Because of that, I just ignored the reckoning effect and left the Zombie Horde on it's original space and didn't resolve the new regular zombie's reckoning effect.

Was that the correct thing to do?

Yes, you did the correct thing - in particular, if the Zombie Horde is in play, you don't discard the zombie. This is covered in the FAQ for the game:

  • The text effect of the Zombie Monster should read as follows: “ @ : Spawn the Zombie Horde Epic Monster on this space. If you do, discard this Monster.”

Also, I just want to add that when an epic monster is defeated, it is returned to the box, meaning it cannot enter play again. So if you kill off the zombie horde, another zombie horde cannot appear.

Thanks for the clarification. You guys on this board are great.

If I run into any other issues I'll ask. But I'll try to read the FAQ first next time! :)