Yog Sothoth Awakened Rules Question

By Malice1973, in General Discussion

Hi, I have a question regarding Yog Sothoth.

In my last game he awakened and we discovered a weird effect of his card. Most of the gates were in play, two were on the ancient one card, the last two on a Mystery. The gate stack was empty, and several times we experienced a situation where we would advance Doom.

Yog says put a gate from the stack on his AO card instead. However, the stack was empty. We all felt like we should have lost the game because of this but could not find a rule which said so.

Running out of Gates seems not to kill you, only Mysteries, and all the Gates were tied up elsewhere. I'm sure given time one of the Gates from the board would have jumped onto his AO sheet, but we scraped a victory before this happened. However, we all felt a little cheap about winning in this way.

Did we miss something?

Thanks.

I think the key for your question is in the first line of The Lurker rules, saying

"each time a Gate would cause Doom to advance, place that Gate on this sheet instead"

It is true that with no gates in the stack you can never trigger the second part of the Lurker, but considering that if the stack is empty, then you have a load of gates in play, one single reckoning card causing the Omen Track to advance is enough to kill your whole party due to the first sentence I just quoted.

Hope this solves your troubles :)

Yeah, it's not cheap. You were lucky.