The Insanity that is Daoloth

By ObsessiveGamer, in Elder Sign

So a search of this forum turns up a grand total of only 8 topics that even MENTION Daoloth, and none seem to be exclusively focused on his (its? I'm new to this whole Lovecraftian horror thing) crazy power. I think he / it deserves

I was playing a game by myself on Vassal, controlling 6 investigators. I ended the first day with no monsters, three monster slots, and no Other Worlds. I don't even remember if there were Other World rewards on the Adventures in play, because I don't think I was all that concerned - I had THREE slots open! I think I figured I was FINE! The lingering effect of the initial Mythos card was "a monster appears." I went into midnight knowing that I could handle that, and surely no new Mythos card would give me three monsters...

But then I drew a Mythos Insight card: either discard an Other World adventure or three monsters appear. Eep. Well, no Other World adventures, so let's put out those monsters. Okay, I'm going to have to lose one investigator, that's no problem, there's plenty left...wait...a doom token puts out a monster...which means another investigator is getting devoured...which means another doom token...another monster...another devoured investigator...another doom token...another monster...A FOURTH DEVOURED INVESTIGATOR.

It was in that moment that I truly understood the insanity that is Daoloth. Four monsters at one midnight = 4 devoured investigators.