Questions From a New GM

By McBamf, in WFRP Rules Questions

Hello All,

I am fairly new to rpg's in general, and picked up WHFRP as it looked to be a little more streamlined and easier to pick up for newbies like myself (I do have the Pathfinder beginner's box and rulebook, but being the person blazing the trail for rpg's in my group of friends, I found it very difficult to master all on my own).
I do have some questions I was hoping you could answer for me. I've read through some of these posts and this seems like a great community.

1. In my aforementioned dealings with Pathfinder, I know that in that game the GM can do secret roles, concealing from the PC's if they are right or wrong on certain checks. Is there a way to do this in WHFRP?

2. If a PC is just making a basic attack, without using an action card, how does the GM interpret the banes, boons, Sigmar's comets, and Chaos Stars without reference material?

3. I swear I read somewhere about damaged items (possibly because of poor craftsmanship). How does an item become broken? How is it repaired?

4. My wife's character is a Trollslayer. The career card says that Trollslayers typically don't wear armor. Does this mean they can't wear armor? What if she wants to buy armor?

5. If a character is 2 deep on his/her stance meter, but one space is red, and the other is green, are they rolling one red and one green die?

6. How do you typically handle the purchase of equipment/special items? The rulebook is very vague about this. It's almost as if the character describes what they want to buy and you work out the details with them. Am I misunderstanding this? I would like to give my players the feel of a store with specific inventory.

7. Any recommendations for magic classes? In general? We're holding off on wizards and initiates for now until we get the grasp of the game.