Several questions..

By SandorVS, in General Discussion

Hello everybody! Really enjoying the game, I just have several questions.

1st Question: What does local action mean? Is it an action that is required to be done right when the card enters play?

2nd Question: Say If I awaken an ancient one during the reckoning effects, specifically the star spawn dropped doom to 0. Do you still do rolls for say, a zombie horde? And would it still advance doom in the awakening effects?

3rd Question: Is it possible to have 2 train tickets or 2 boat tickets? Or does it have to be 1 boat and 1 train?

4th Question: Could you acquire boat or train tickets with a monster on the same space?

5th Question: If their are 2 monsters on the same space as an investigator, does the investigator have to fight the second monster even if he failed to kill the first monster he encountered? I hope this makes sense...

Sorry for so many questions, I'm sure its in the rulebook I just cant seem to find it. Thanks everybody! Cannot wait for the expansion!!

Hello everybody! Really enjoying the game, I just have several questions.

1st Question: What does local action mean? Is it an action that is required to be done right when the card enters play?

2nd Question: Say If I awaken an ancient one during the reckoning effects, specifically the star spawn dropped doom to 0. Do you still do rolls for say, a zombie horde? And would it still advance doom in the awakening effects?

3rd Question: Is it possible to have 2 train tickets or 2 boat tickets? Or does it have to be 1 boat and 1 train?

4th Question: Could you acquire boat or train tickets with a monster on the same space?

5th Question: If their are 2 monsters on the same space as an investigator, does the investigator have to fight the second monster even if he failed to kill the first monster he encountered? I hope this makes sense...

Sorry for so many questions, I'm sure its in the rulebook I just cant seem to find it. Thanks everybody! Cannot wait for the expansion!!

1: Local action is an action that can only affect situations at your current locale. Hence, you couldn't use a local action to affect anything in Tokyo if you are in San Francisco.

2: All reckoning effects have to resolve. The AO awakening does not interrupt the Mythos Phase, unless its Azathoth of course.

3. You can have 2 tickets of the same type.

4. I don't have the rules glossary in front of me, but I believe you can. If in the rules glossary there is a bold statement that says "This action may not be taken while monsters occupy this space." then I am wrong.

5. You must encounter all monsters once regardless if you fail a combat. All failing a combat will dictate is that you probably won't be able to encounter the space after you finish your combats.

1: Local actions are actions that a other investigator in your space can also do.

"Some actions on possessions and conditions are identified as a “Local Action” on the card in bold.
*An investigator may perform local actions on his own possessions and Conditions.
*Any investigator on the same space as the investigator that possesses a card with a local action may perform that local action.
*A local action can be performed by each investigator once per round. Multiple investigators may perform that action during the course of a single Action Phase."

- Ref guid page 8

4: Yes you can.

Edited by Fenyx

If I have a Artifact and a Asset that increases my strength in combat can I use both?

Nope, you can't. You just use one bonus. The rerolls from other such cards (llike Bullwhip, Hired Muscle and so on) do stack, however.

If I have a Artifact and a Asset that increases my strength in combat can I use both?

You can only choose one increase or the other, regardless of whether they are different from each other. So if you have the Enchanted Dagger and the Sword of St. Jerome, you will probably be using the increases from the Sword of St. Jerome. However, you can use the other abilities on the items in the same round, such as reroll effects and effects that happen after rolling.

Ok cool thanks :)

Bonuses worded as "Gain +N to Strength during combat checks" cannot be combined; you only take the highest of available benefits. Secondary effects however such as "Roll an additional die", rerolls, double damage on sixes and adjusting die results can all be freely combined.

Edited by Wolfgar

Not just "gain +X stregth during combat encounter", but "gain strength +1" (Hired Muscle) is unstackable as well.