Roll an extra die question

By Arithil, in General Discussion

Maybe I'm reading to much into this but I like to have my rules clear and play the game right.

I'm writing from work so I can't quote the exact text but here it is as I remember:

Some characters (Leo Anderson for example) have the skill to allow en extra die rolled when in the wilderness. It says roll an extra die and not for example add +1 to skill.

Why is this important?

Let's say I have an encounter that makes me roll a -2 skill check. My skill is 2 so 2-2=0 but I always get to roll at least 1 die.

Now, Leo Anderson let's me roll an extra die so do I roll

1 (die from above calculated skill value) +1 (from Leo specific skill) = 2 die or should I calculate

2 (skill value) +1 (from Leo skill) - 2 (encounter modificator) =1 die

I hope I'm making myself clear. My brain says that the 2nd way is the right way (nothing is ever easy in AH/EH) but my heart want's to roll an extra die :]

The answer can be found on the Reference guide, pag 11, under "Tests". First of all, you have to determine the dice pool, considering all the possible bonuses / maluses. Hence:

a) number of dice = the stat to be tested

b) add / subtract the test modifier

c) add the modifier derived from Improvement tokens

d) consider one effect providing a bonus

e) add "additional dice" due to other effects (like Leo's ability)

at this point you are ready to roll. You check the number of dice in the dice pool, and if the result is lower than 1, you roll 1 die; otherwise you roll dice equal to the dice in your pool.

In your example, you roll one die, not two.

Hope this helps

JULIA

Edited by Julia

I have to read that part again. Thank you for the answer.

:) You're welcome. Don't worry, there are tons of nuances in this game that require continuous reading of the reference guide :)