The Kingsroad vs a River Blockade

By mdprice, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

I was reading the New comprehensive rulebook ..Is it time ? thread and had an idea. My brother-in-law and I are fairly new to the game and we still have rule questions we have to figure out frequently during games. I'm thinking when they come up I'll write myself a nice question and answer. I also want to post these here so that I can verify they are correct and share it. So, here's my first one that's come up recently:

[Q] Does the cancel effect of River Blockade cancel the effect of The Kingsroad (either one)?
[A] No, River Blockade will cancel the first Triggered Effect whereas The Kingsroad's effect is a Passive Ability.


[River Blockade]: Cancel the first location effect triggered by an opponent each round.
[The Kingsroad 23]: After you win a challenge, kneel all copies of The Kingsroad in play to choose an opponent. Then, if it is Winter, that player must discard 1 card at random from his or her hand.

This is a great idea!

Edited by JohnyNFullEffect

Verification: You are correct. When a card refers to an effect "just triggered," it refers to triggered effects only.

Awesome, Thanks ktom.