Unique Enhancements and other questions.

By Meudian, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

So this came up as a topic a couple days ago, and I want to make sure I have the right of it. So my friend was curious on if he was able to play another unique enhancement after one was stolen by the opposing player. For clarification and example, he plays Echo Base, which is a unique enhancement. I take it with Utinni! so it is under my control. Because it is unique, he can't put another out. My line of reasoning for this goes to 2 vs 2 matches where players are not allowed to have more than one of the same unique character out in play(i.e. Darth Vader).

One of the other questions that came up was how late in someone's turn can someone do things like assigning the one point of damage if the Balance of the Force is on the Light Side, Council of the Sith - Reaction: After your opponent's turn begins, draw 1 card, and other effects of that nature.

I can answer the second part. "After" means "immediately after" and the Balance Phase is when you deal the point of damage.

Utinni! doesn't give you control of an enemy card. It captures the card.

Captured card is put out of play and stored under one of your objectives. After the objective is destroyed the captured card returns to it's owner's hand. The captured card may also be taken back with "rescue" effect.

The captured card stays "out of play" so another copy can be played as normal.

Okay, fair enough on Utinni!. The last time I had it used on me though, my opponent took control of the enhancement instead of capturing. But doesn't the only one unique rule apply for enhancements even if they are taken and placed under the control of your opponent?

Okay, fair enough on Utinni!. The last time I had it used on me though, my opponent took control of the enhancement instead of capturing. But doesn't the only one unique rule apply for enhancements even if they are taken and placed under the control of your opponent?

A card that is captured is considered out of play, meaning it is flipped face down and now for all intents and purposes it is just a captured card. Because this card is out of play, this means you would be able to play another copy of said card while the first one is still captured under an opponent's objective.

So let's say you had Luke Skywalker in play. He gets damage dealt to him by Boba Fett, and the opposing player uses Boba Fett's Reaction to capture Luke at one of his Objectives. Luke's card is now "out of play". If you had another Luke in your hand, you could play that Luke on your next Deployment Phase. If you manage to destroy an Objective with a captured card, that card goes back into your hand.

Okay, fair enough on Utinni!. The last time I had it used on me though, my opponent took control of the enhancement instead of capturing. But doesn't the only one unique rule apply for enhancements even if they are taken and placed under the control of your opponent?

There is currently no card that would allow a player to take control of opponent's enhancement. There is only one card (Join Me) that gives you control of opponent's character but it only works on non-unique ones.

In theory only one copy of a unique card can be "in play" at a given moment but remeber that captured cards are always "out of play".

There actually is a fairly commonly played LS card that can take control of a DS enhancement. If you use it to take control of a unique enhancement, then the DS cannot play another copy of the enhancement.

All of the above answers are correct about captured cards, they are not in play and thus another copy can be played.

There actually is a fairly commonly played LS card that can take control of a DS enhancement. If you use it to take control of a unique enhancement, then the DS cannot play another copy of the enhancement.

All of the above answers are correct about captured cards, they are not in play and thus another copy can be played.

Complete blackout on my behalf. You are right!

I think Smugglers run is the Ls card you are talking about.

I have a question about hold blaster.

If u have less units than the ds double enhanced units icons. Now if I have this on Han equipped with his blaster aswell will it double just the printed then add his blaster. Or will it add his blaster first then double them. I am only asking this as it does not say printed icons

One of the other questions that came up was how late in someone's turn can someone do things like assigning the one point of damage if the Balance of the Force is on the Light Side, Council of the Sith - Reaction: After your opponent's turn begins, draw 1 card, and other effects of that nature.

I want to follow up with your second question. While I agree with khudzlin that it must be immediately after, there is a little more to it. You are looking at the difference between framework events and optional events.

All reactions are optional, so if your opponent forgets to draw a card at the beginning of your turn, you are well within your rights to deny them that. However, most people play fast enough that they are already into the deployment phase before the opponent realizes they need to draw that card. That's why it's important to declare when you are going to each phase. It needs to be clear to everyone when a new framework event is initiating and when an action window is open to their opponent. But again, if it is a reaction, action, or interrupt, you don't need to remind your opponent about it.

The Balance phase is different. It is a framework event. If the Force is with the Light Side, they MUST place one damage on a target Dark Side objective. It is not optional. As a framework event, it is incumbent upon both players to ensure a legal game state by reminding players when they have forgotten important steps like damaging objectives or increasing the Death Star dial during the Balance phase.

The trouble with things like the Balance phase is that if both players miss it, it might affect players' actions since they were basing their strategy off of a false game state. Generally speaking, if you've begun declaring targets during the combat phase, I, personally, think it's too late to take it back. But the point of no return may come sooner in the turn if important cards were played that wouldn't have been played had the game state been accurate. In those instances, you can't ask the player to take it back because they've now revealed their hand.