Qs: Questionable Contacts, Lobot + Bamboozle

By waidaat, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

A few questions

1:Can you damage Questionable Contacts without any damage to move?

The reason i ask is because I have read that with Killing Cold you can sacrifice a unit even if you don't have any damage to remove (which is lame but I understand the reasoning).

2, Can you use QC multiple times on the same refresh?

I assume no. The same would go with Defense Protocol and other similar cases. The difference with Killing Cold is that QC is a reaction and not an action.

3. If Lobot were to help pay for Bamboozle, can that focus token be moved?

I can't think of a reason why not, just making sure.

1. Yes, though I'm not sure why you would ever want to do that. There does still have to be both a friendly and enemy unit to target though.

2. No. Reactions (and interrupts) can only trigger once per triggering condition.

3. I think that works as the card only needs to target a character unit, not an exhausted character unit.

For the first, in a scenario with False Report. If perhaps you know it is next, you can prep to clear the board. Unlikely since a new objective doesn't flip anytime soon, but just thinking outside the box.

In the Lobot scenario, he gets exhausted from paying for the Bamboozle, then the focus is removed from the bamboozle

Ah. Well that is a pretty specific, but real situation where you might want to trigger QC without any damage to move. Keep in mind though that it happens after you refresh so if you suicided it you'd lose the resource for a turn and not get to flip your next objective until the next turn. But in general, yes you can trigger it as long as the condition is met (after you refresh) and all targets are available (friendly unit and enemy unit).

Same with Bamboozle, since you can target any friendly unit, you can target Lobot who (at that time) isn't exhausted. By the time the card effect resolves he will have a focus token for it to move. It's a nice little combo.

On a similar note you can use lobot (or any unit resource) to help pay for cloud city operative to the same effect.

Thanks. That's all pretty much what I assumed, just making sure. I can't really see a situation where you would kill QC, especially without moving a damage, but I like knowing its an option.

I can't really see a situation where you would kill QC. . .

Resource Match.

It'd have to be a really contrived situation, but it could happen. Suppose the DS took out your own Rebel resource and you flipped another S&S or Neutral objective. The DS sees you flailing (hand loaded with Rebel cards) but is also content to sit on the dial rather than take on your defenses. You have a game-winning Rebel card in hand. It might be worth it, to kill QC, let the DS sit through their turn, come back around and refresh to get a Rebel objective, and play your winning Rebel card.