"Accessed" and other questions

By warfinger, in Android: Netrunner Rules Questions

I have a few questions.

1. I don't see anywhere in the rules that prevents the runner from making a run if they don't have anything yet installed in their rig. Can a runner make a run with essentially nothing on an unprotected server and freely access it? If so, I would imagine that it happens fairly often during the first round of play since the corporation might not have enough ice to protect both R&D and HQ, leaving one open for the runner to access on the very first round.

2. I also don't see anything in the rule book that prevents the corporation from "advancing" non-agenda cards such as assets. Can the corporation spend clicks and credits to add advancement tokens to an asset in an attempt to fake out the runner into thinking they are advancing an agenda?

3. Does anything else besides a successful run count as an "accessed" action. For example, if the runner uses the "Infiltration" event to "expose" a server, and that server turns out to be a "Snare!" asset, does that count as an "access" by the runner, allowing the corporation to trigger the snare? Or does it only count if the card was accessed as part of a run?

Thanks!

I have a few questions.

1. I don't see anywhere in the rules that prevents the runner from making a run if they don't have anything yet installed in their rig. Can a runner make a run with essentially nothing on an unprotected server and freely access it? If so, I would imagine that it happens fairly often during the first round of play since the corporation might not have enough ice to protect both R&D and HQ, leaving one open for the runner to access on the very first round.

2. I also don't see anything in the rule book that prevents the corporation from "advancing" non-agenda cards such as assets. Can the corporation spend clicks and credits to add advancement tokens to an asset in an attempt to fake out the runner into thinking they are advancing an agenda?

3. Does anything else besides a successful run count as an "accessed" action. For example, if the runner uses the "Infiltration" event to "expose" a server, and that server turns out to be a "Snare!" asset, does that count as an "access" by the runner, allowing the corporation to trigger the snare? Or does it only count if the card was accessed as part of a run?

Thanks!

#1: You are absolutely correct. It is very common for the Runner to make a run on HQ or R&D as the first click if one or both are not protected by ICE.

#2: The only cards that can be advanced are agendas and any card that specifically states that it can be advanced.

#3: "Accessing" a card only happens when a successful run is completed. Exposing a card is not the same as accessing a card. An agenda can only be stolen when it is accessed. A Snare can only affect the Runner when it is accessed. Many card abilities will forgo the accessing of cards in lieu of a different result, such as Account Siphon or Keyhole.

#3: "Accessing" a card only happens when a successful run is completed.

Or through Raymond Flint. Regardless, if the card says "Access", it's Accessing. If it says "Look at", "Expose", or anything else, it's not Accessing.

Thanks everyone!

Oh, and as far as the rulebook clarifying which cards can or cannot be advanced, that is found on pg. 14 of the core rulebook:

Advancing a Card
For [1 click] and [1 credit], the Corporation adds one advancement token
to an installed card. Agendas can always be advanced while
installed. Cards other than agendas can only be advanced if
their text box allows it. There is no limit to the number of times
a card can be advanced.
Just FYI.

As a heads up, a runner can run on iced up servers even if they don't have a breaker. Hell a lot of times it's a good idea as it forces the corp to spend money.

Not all ice ends the run, either. Things like Hunter or Neural Katana don't stop a run. Just take the trace or soak up the damage and you're in the server.

I've won several games where I've never installed a single icebreaker. Granted usually it's smart to get a killer into play to avoid Neural Katana damage.