Card f 23 has a strange icon

By firefox5, in CoC General Discussion

Hello,

I've bought the game call of cthulhu. In the deck miskatonic U. are 19 cards. In the deck The Agency are 21 cards. But the card Steve Clarney has the icon of the Agency, but the number of the card is nukber 23. That number belongs to the miskatonic U deck. However, the f23 card has the looks of the agency deck.

Perhaps a missprint in the game?

Or maybe I'm getting something wrong?

Greetings,

Ingrid from the Netherlands (perhaps is my English not very well)

Greetings Firefox Ingrid from the Netherlands. Clarney was MU when originally printed R19 in Unspeakable Tales, the first expansion of the Arkham Edition block. FFG admitted Clarney as Agency a re-printing error in Core, but that he should be played Agency rather than be errataed, for simplicity. Both are legal in mixed border format. Can you have three of each in a mixed border deck? Can one of each be in play together by one player? These are more subtle questions. Your English is fine.

firefox said:

Hello,

I've bought the game call of cthulhu. In the deck miskatonic U. are 19 cards. In the deck The Agency are 21 cards. But the card Steve Clarney has the icon of the Agency, but the number of the card is nukber 23. That number belongs to the miskatonic U deck. However, the f23 card has the looks of the agency deck.

Perhaps a missprint in the game?

Or maybe I'm getting something wrong?

Greetings,

Ingrid from the Netherlands (perhaps is my English not very well)

It's a misprint. Now it is counted as an agency card, for simplicity sake. If you want to play a Miskatonic deck, and don't have enough cards, I suppose it's Ok to count it as a Miskatonic card though.

Oh, en je Engels is prima... :D

johnny shoes said:

Greetings Firefox Ingrid from the Netherlands. Clarney was MU when originally printed R19 in Unspeakable Tales, the first expansion of the Arkham Edition block. FFG admitted Clarney as Agency a re-printing error in Core, but that he should be played Agency rather than be errataed, for simplicity. Both are legal in mixed border format. Can you have three of each in a mixed border deck? Can one of each be in play together by one player? These are more subtle questions. Your English is fine.

Theoretically, you can play both versions in your deck. Mind that the "3 cards of one name" rule, and the rule for "1 card in play of a unique character of one name" still holds true, though. So, it isn't a very practical thing to do in that case...