Spend credits between Rez and Encounter (particularly for Nasir Meidan)

By khutek, in Android: Netrunner Rules Questions

Hello All,

Is if it is possible to trigger paid abilities such as those on Personal Workshop after the Corp Rezzes a piece of Ice but before the runner encounters it?

This seems to make a big difference with the new runner "Nasir Meidan" who was revealed in Upstalk.

Looking at the rulebook I can see that paid abilities can be triggered at 2.1 but as the icons are before the text "...Either the Corporation REZZES the approached ice: go to [3]" and after the text in 3 of "The runner ENCOUNTERS a piece of ice." I am not sure if this means paid abilities can only be paid before Rezzing and after Encountering or not.

Short answer, yes, you can. Longer answer:

Each step where paid abilities can be used is a window. During step 2.1, the Corp may rez ICE, and use and many paid abilities as they want, in any order. Then the runner may do the same. When the runner is done, if they did anything, the Corp may do more, however if the runner did nothing, the Corp can do no more.

As soon as both players have had a chance to act in each window, the next time someone declines to act the window closes. It doesn't matter that the text in that step comes before the icons, they are n the same step, so it's down to the controlling player to choose the order of his actions.

Each step where paid abilities can be used is a window. During step 2.1, the Corp may rez ICE, and use and many paid abilities as they want, in any order. Then the runner may do the same. When the runner is done, if they did anything, the Corp may do more, however if the runner did nothing, the Corp can do no more.

As soon as both players have had a chance to act in each window, the next time someone declines to act the window closes. It doesn't matter that the text in that step comes before the icons, they are n the same step, so it's down to the controlling player to choose the order of his actions.

Technically, the Runner gets to act in Step 2.1 of a Run first because it is the Runner's turn. The rest of what you said is spot-on.

Each step where paid abilities can be used is a window. During step 2.1, the Corp may rez ICE, and use and many paid abilities as they want, in any order. Then the runner may do the same. When the runner is done, if they did anything, the Corp may do more, however if the runner did nothing, the Corp can do no more.

As soon as both players have had a chance to act in each window, the next time someone declines to act the window closes. It doesn't matter that the text in that step comes before the icons, they are n the same step, so it's down to the controlling player to choose the order of his actions.

Technically, the Runner gets to act in Step 2.1 of a Run first because it is the Runner's turn. The rest of what you said is spot-on.

D'oh! You're right of course.