Can I move advancement tokens to a card that is not rezzed if that card can only be advanced while rezzed?
I ask since moving tokens is not actually advancing the card.
Thanks.
Can I move advancement tokens to a card that is not rezzed if that card can only be advanced while rezzed?
I ask since moving tokens is not actually advancing the card.
Thanks.
Yes you can. Moving advancement tokens with Trick of Light (or placing advancement tokens with Shipment from SanSan) is different from spending a click to advance a card.
all such cards that I'm aware of specify to move or place advancement tokens on a card "that can be advanced." So cards like Tyrant or Salvage don't meet that criterion while unrezzed.
Is there a ruling on this? The language on Salvage et al is no different from efficiency committee. I'd assume the ruling is the same
Actually it is different. EC impacts the player, but the Ice actually declares itself that it's in one state or the other. I'm not aware that it's a ruling, I'm just reading the cards as is.
Efficiency Commitee: You cannot advance cards for the remainder of this turn. (Has been ruled to allow Trick/Shipments)
Trick of Light: Move up to 2 advancement tokens from a card to another installed card that can be advanced.
Shipment from Kaguya: Place 1 advancement token on each of up to 2 different installed cards that can be advanced.
Shipment from SanSan: Place up to 2 advancement tokens on a card that can be advanced.
Tyrant can be advanced only while rezzed ...
Woodcutter can be advanced only while rezzed ...
Salvage can be advanced
only while rezzed
...
So, when they're not rezzed, they're not cards that can be advanced.
So are you saying that if Efficiency committee read "for the remainder of the turn cards can not be advanced" Then ToL and SfSS wouldn't work? You might be right I just always assumed that Salvage, Tyrant and woodcutter could be advanced while unrezzed with the Tricks. Of course in actual play it never mattered because no one ever plays Salvage Tyrant or Woodcutter.
edit: just submitted the question. I'll let you know what I find out.
Edited by frybenderSo are you saying that if Efficiency committee read "for the remainder of the turn cards can not be advanced" Then ToL and SfSS wouldn't work? You might be right I just always assumed that Salvage, Tyrant and woodcutter could be advanced while unrezzed with the Tricks. Of course in actual play it never mattered because no one ever plays Salvage Tyrant or Woodcutter.
edit: just submitted the question. I'll let you know what I find out.
I play all three
Anyway, SfSS etc., work because you are not ADVANCING CARDS, you are PLACING AN ADVANCEMENT TOKEN. These have been explicitly ruled to be two different things.
Tyrant, Salvage and Woodcutter are only able to be advanced while rezzed, so they're not valid ToL targets while unrezzed (though they can still be ToL batteries if they were advanced and then derezzed).
So are you saying that if Efficiency committee read "for the remainder of the turn cards can not be advanced" Then ToL and SfSS wouldn't work? You might be right I just always assumed that Salvage, Tyrant and woodcutter could be advanced while unrezzed with the Tricks. Of course in actual play it never mattered because no one ever plays Salvage Tyrant or Woodcutter.
edit: just submitted the question. I'll let you know what I find out.
That's not what Grimwalker is saying at all. You can use Trick of Light or the Shipments from Kayuga or SanSan with Efficiency Committee active, but you cannot use them to place advancement tokens on unrezzed cards such as Woodcutter or Tyrant that specifically say they can only be advanced while rezzed.