Hello, just to start off I want to say that a friend of mine had a collection of the original netrunner that he introduced us to and we had a blast playing that. For the most part we really like the new game. There are just a few cards who's rulings I don't agree with. Most I understand, don't like but understand. Then there is Scavenge. For completeness here is the card text:
ScavengeShaper Event: | Cost: 0 | Inf: 2As an additional cost to play this card, trash an installed program.
Install a program from your grip or heap, lowering the install cost of that program by the cost of the program trashed
The ruling is that you can trash a program to install that same program. How?
Can someone explain to me, please, how you can scavenge a thing into itself? Common sense tells me that you must target the program when the cost is being paid. By this ruling it exists in 2 places at once. The only thing that makes sense is you pay the cost, wait, then choose what to retrieve. Which to me is like playing Dirty Laundry without choosing a server to run.
Thanks in advance for the clarification.