Scenario card: Korrina's Tears question

By Angus Lee, in BattleLore

The captioned card reads, "VP Step: Gain 1 VP if an enemy infantry unit does not occupy a hex within 2 hexes of either building hex outlined in red."

Since we are not native English speakers, my friend and I have dispute over the interpretation of this card. If there is no enemy Infantry unit within 2 hexes of both buildings, how many VP do I gain?

To be specific, how many VP is gained if:

1) there is an enemy unit within 2 hexes of building A and there is an enemy unit within 2 hexes of building B (0 VP, no doubt)

2) there is an enemy unit within 2 hexes of building A but there is no enemy unit within 2 hexes of building B (0 or 1 VP?)

3) there is no enemy Infantry unit within 2 hexes of both buildings A and B (1 or 2 VPs?)

We played that scenario once and read it as:

There needs to be no enemy infantry/archers within 2 hexes of both buildings, if so, the player gains 1 VP. That was very difficult to do (I don't think he accomplished it even once) but that's balanced by the fact that he has easy access to 2 VP hexes on buildings that are close together and pretty easy to defend.

Yes, that is how we played it also. Basically, you can only gain a max of 1 VP from that rule and if there is an enemy unit within 2 hexes of either building (1 or the other or both) then you will not get it. It is definitely hard and we did not accomplish once either but yes the balance is still there.