What happens if you encounter both Cerberus and Lord of the Pit?

By Artaterxes, in Talisman Rules Questions

Suppose Cerberus is face-up at the Portal of Power. Prophecy is in play, so you draw 1 extra card. You land on the Portal of Power and draw Lord of the Pit, and now you have to fight both Cerberus and Lord of the Pit!

Both enemies have the same encounter number, and for each enemy you can choose whether to fight using Strength or Craft. I think you should have to fight both enemies with the same value (either both Strength or both Craft).

Now what happens if you encounter the Eastern Dragon and Lord of the Pit? The Eastern Dragon forces you to fight with your lower stat. I think you'd have to fight both enemies with your lower stat.

What do you think?

SInce they have the same encounter number, I can see people going either way on this one.

However, for my thinking, you would still have the choice to fight either of them with either attribute.

Cerberus and Lord of the Pit both specifically state that you can choose the attribute. If you happen to choose the same attribute for both (say Strength) then yes, you would fight them as one, otherwise you would fight one with Craft and one with Strength.

Same thing with Eastern Dragon . Yes you MUST use your lowest attribute against it, however, if you are encountering Lord of the Pit at the same time you can freely choose which attribute to use against him.

Edited by adjogi

I would agree with Artaterxes. If enemies can fight together - they do fight together. If you read the faq you'll find an encounter sequence (numbered 1-10). Point number 4 reads:

4. Any Enemies in the space with an encounter number of

1 must be encountered. If all of the Enemies are killed or
evaded the character continues to the next step, otherwise
his turn ends.
Then you can just change the encounter number for point 5 and 6 to 2 and 3 respectively. I think this means that enemies with encounter number 1 fights together as well, although you can choose (or sometimes Eastern dragon does it for you) which attribute to use. More, enemies bad abilities tend to have effect on the whole battle or Psychic combat so this would go for Eastern dragon as well.
Well, this is just guess work as well, so please correct me if I'm wrong.

Adjogi is correct!

SInce they have the same encounter number, I can see people going either way on this one.

However, for my thinking, you would still have the choice to fight either of them with either attribute.

Cerberus and Lord of the Pit both specifically state that you can choose the attribute. If you happen to choose the same attribute for both (say Strength) then yes, you would fight them as one, otherwise you would fight one with Craft and one with Strength.

Same thing with Eastern Dragon . Yes you MUST use your lowest attribute against it, however, if you are encountering Lord of the Pit at the same time you can freely choose which attribute to use against him.

I'm not very convinced by this interpretation. It should be more intuitive to fight them as a single Enemy and choose either Strength or Craft to use against the group of Enemies. Eastern Dragon will influence that choice on the worst possible side. Otherwise, a character would be allowed to freely split such groups to his advantage.

I think this should be officially answered. The preview of the upcoming Firelands expansion shows lots of Strength/Craft Enemies with Encounter Number 1, so perhaps multiple encounters will become more frequent and FFG will eventually clarify this issue.

I must agree with you Warlock that this should be an FAQ entry in the very near future ;) Honestly, it is a rare thing to have two enemies at the same time that quite clearly give you the choice of attribute but, as you mention, the Firelands will apparently be making it a much more common occurrence!

I don't think it's a bad thing to be able to split these two enemies to your advantage. Even then, it is not a forgone conclusion you would win both battles!

easy, as they all fight at the same time, the player choose which is battle or psychic combat, then the player rolls for combat rolls and the enemy rolls their combat roll,(1) compare total scores if player win battle with his str + roll then he win, then psychic combat is also looked at the same way player roll craft, he could win one against one enemy but lose against the other

If you are unlucky enough to encounter Cerberus and lord of the pit you follow this procedure:

1) Decide how you will fight the cards either Craft or Strength. (the cards give you free choice in dealing with them but both have to be considered at the same time as they both have an encounter number of 1 and therefore become 1 entity)

2) If you win you may immediately move to the Plain of Peril bypassing the need to open the portal. If you lose then lose one life and turn ends as normal.

It wouldn't make any sense fighting one with craft and the other with strength otherwise tactically you would choose the pit lord first and if win could bypass Cerebus by Teleporting to the plain of peril. If you lost to the pit lord then your turn would end anyhow before fighting Cerebus.

Note that if there was another enemy with an encounter number of 2 or 3 then they would not stack with cerebus or the pit lord as they have a different encounter number.

More Than One Enemy (p10)
If there is more than one Enemy that attacks by Strength on a
space and they have the same encounter number,
Now if the eastern dragon is one of the antagonists he takes away that choice about which stat to use in the fight. You would have to use your lowest str or craft total which makes it extra deadly.
This is where you want a Destruction spell handy to cast when you land on the space.
EXAMPLE (1)
The Minstrel lands on the Portal of power which has both Cerebus and The Pit Lord occupying he area in a terrible alliance. His Strength is 9 and he has a sword (10 total), His Craft is 10 and he has solomons crown (12 total). he chooses craft to fight Cerebus and the pit lord. The Minstrel will add 12 to his attack roll vs 15 from Cerebus and the Pit Lord.
EXAMPLE (2)
The Merchant encounters the same space a while later (passing the Gnawed bones of the Minstrel) He has a str of 9 and a craft of 10 and 1 gold. The merchant player decides to pay the Pit Lord 1 gold ( Merchent special ability) to evade him and now must have to deal with Cerberus. he chooses craft and handily defeats him.
Hope it helps

Thanks grim!