Random Questions

By JTStarkiller, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

Hey everyone. New to the game and the forums here. My brother and I were playing and a few small, random questions came up. Hopefully none of them were answered in the rulebook (I looked but didn't find anything). They're pretty simple, I think.

1. With Han Solo's Targeted Strike, am I right in assuming that both of his blaster bolts may target ANY enemy unit, and then he can use his focus and objective icons as well? If you read it another way, it sounds like targeting an enemy is done INSTEAD of using his four icons. I'm 99% sure that's not the case, but just curious.

2. With cards like Yoda, where you are given extra blaster and objective icons, should I assume they're non-edge dependent (black background/white symbol)? The way it's written on Yoda's card, for instance, is in black, meaning that it could be edge dependent, since those are in black. I'm probably looking way too much into that. :)

3. Lastly, when an event card says you can play a card at any given moment, do you still have to pay the necessary resources? I can't think of a specific event card at the moment, but just asking generally.

Thanks!

MTFBWY

1. You read it right. His other icons are also used whether or not targeted strike was used when dealing out his 2 unit damage.

2. In a text box, if a combat icon is surrounded by parentheses (as in this case), then they're edge-enabled. If not surrounded by parentheses, then they're non-edge-enabled.

3. Yes. I've never liked the "any given moment" term ... an event can be played anytime its ability is allowed to be triggered, which for an action is during an action window, and for an interrupt/reaction is when its triggering condition occurs, whilst meeting any play restrictions/permissions also written on the card. But yes, whenever you play an event card (at the legal time), you must pay its cost.

Hey everyone. New to the game and the forums here. My brother and I were playing and a few small, random questions came up. Hopefully none of them were answered in the rulebook (I looked but didn't find anything). They're pretty simple, I think.

1. With Han Solo's Targeted Strike, am I right in assuming that both of his blaster bolts may target ANY enemy unit, and then he can use his focus and objective icons as well? If you read it another way, it sounds like targeting an enemy is done INSTEAD of using his four icons. I'm 99% sure that's not the case, but just curious.

2. With cards like Yoda, where you are given extra blaster and objective icons, should I assume they're non-edge dependent (black background/white symbol)? The way it's written on Yoda's card, for instance, is in black, meaning that it could be edge dependent, since those are in black. I'm probably looking way too much into that. :)

3. Lastly, when an event card says you can play a card at any given moment, do you still have to pay the necessary resources? I can't think of a specific event card at the moment, but just asking generally.

Thanks!

MTFBWY

1. Targeted Strike effectively just gives you the option to apply the unit damage to an enemy unit that is not participating in the engagement. It leaves the other combat icons alone. Do note that both of Han's unit damage must still apply to the same enemy unit (they can't be split).

2. Yoda gains edge-enabled icons from his ability. Contrast how they're written on his card to how they appear on Jedi Lightsaber to see the difference. Also see the combat icons sidebar on pg 21 of the rule book for the description of how normal vs edge-enabled combat icons can be differentiated in card text.

3. If an event card allows you to play another card, then you must still pay that other card's cost (I can't think of any examples off the top of my head). If an event says put into play though that means that it is free (see Return of the Jedi as an example). Put Into Play and Play are both described in the Term Summary sidebar on pg 13.

Thanks for the help guys! Definitely cleared all that up for me. dbmeboy, that's exactly what I was curious about for #3. I appreciate the responses.