Griff (CD)

By IXIMrPinkIXI, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

This effect is just a little confusing for me. If I control less attachments than my opponent and griff is killed does he leave play and come back right away?

If I attach one attachment to an oppenent's character do I control the attachment or does my oppenent.

If I have Griff as an agenda can I summon an other Griff and if so can I then bring the agenda Griff into play?

Sorry for the long question but this guy is just weird but seems pretty cool.

With the errata Griff reads as follows

If Griff would be killed, instead attach him to
your House Card as your only agenda with the
text: "If you control fewer attachments than
each opponent, unattach Griff and return him
to play.
Response: After a Targ attachment you control
is discarded from play, kneel 1 influence to
return it to your hand instead."".

Griff Would go moribund when he would be killed and then at the end of the action window when he died he would then be physically placed as an agenda. His text is passive/constant (i always make a mistake with those 2 terms) But at the next available opportunity where the condition is met he would be returned to play.

Attachments you play on other players cards are still under your control, attachments played on characters you control are under your control, even if the attached character for some reason is no longer under your control.

As long as there is no copy of Griff in your dead pile you may put another Griff into play, should the agenda Griff come back into play it will be as a duplicate to the existing version.

If there is a Griff in your dead pile (For example you have one griff as your agenda, and marshal the 2nd who then dies he would go to the dead pile as his replacement text is blocked by his agenda self) and the conditions of the agenda text are met griff cannot un-attach and come into play due to the restriction of the dead pile.

Along those same lines...if you have an agenda in play, let says Kings of Summer. Then you bring Griff into play from your hand, next turn he dies attaching himself as the only agenda. Then lets say Griff's conditions are met and he comes back into play, what happens to the original Kings of Summer agenda?

I'm assuming that when Griff is the agenda then the Kings of Summer is ignored? But what happens to the original agenda when Griff is put back into play?

Any help is appreciated. If there is a link on this already, sorry. Just point me in the right direction. Thanks.

Along those same lines...if you have an agenda in play, let says Kings of Summer. Then you bring Griff into play from your hand, next turn he dies attaching himself as the only agenda. Then lets say Griff's conditions are met and he comes back into play, what happens to the original Kings of Summer agenda?

You never get that far. If you have an agenda and Griff dies, the "as your only agenda" requirement is not met and fails - and he goes to the dead pile, never becoming an agenda at all. Character agendas like Griff cannot replace existing agendas - be they standard agendas or other copies of themselves. If you start a game with Kings of Summer, that is the agenda you will have for the entire game. Nothing (at this time) can replace or remove that agenda.

Outstanding. Thanks ktom!

I've got a Griff deck but I ended up slipping in KoTHH as my agenda instead - I just found that Griff is difficult to set up, though a bouncing Griff is useful cannon fodder

Its also difficult to ensure you get one Griff is your dead pile whilst still managing to get another copy on as your agenda

You can run multiple character agendas and swap those around but there is a danger that the text related to becomming an agenda is passive and it would be the first player who decides which character becomes your agenda, if both die at the same time

You can run multiple character agendas and swap those around but there is a danger that the text related to becomming an agenda is passive and it would be the first player who decides which character becomes your agenda, if both die at the same time

Didn't Griff receive errata to be "House Targ only," matching the "House X only" on all other character-agendas, making this impossible, as well as pretty much impractical?

He is erratead to read house Targaryen only, but you could play him with the tattered prince if you so desired.