Ilyn Payne rule clarification

By StoneRiver, in A Game of Thrones: The Board Game - A Dance with Dragons

We ran into a snag in our game. Put short: when Ilyn Payne is played by Lannister, and a lone footman is destroyed in a territory, is the player allowed to use a power token to continue controlling the area?

Rules, page 24

A player may only establish control when vacating

an area with a March Order. Events that would leave an area

vacant (such as negative effects from a Wildling victory) does not

permit a player to establish control after the last unit is destroyed.