Tactics and Attacker and Defenders

By azato, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

Lets say I have a unit with a tactics icon and I place it on a defender who has not yet stuck. Lets say the defender survives the entire combat. Does the defender have to place an additional exhaust icon on it for being a defender even if it never struck?

Lets say I have a unit with a tactics icon and I place it on a defender who has not yet stuck. Lets say the defender survives the entire combat. Does the defender have to place an additional exhaust icon on it for being a defender even if it never struck?

Nope. Placing a focus token is part of the striking process. If the unit is exhausted and doesn't strike then it doesn't get a focus token.

That is what I thought...I started to have a nagging suspicion I was doing this wrong. Thanks!