Spell cards & Crown of command

By Rogue 4, in Talisman Rules Questions

So we played this game for the first time tonight and we had a question. Can you play spell cards when you encounter another character while both of you are at the Crown of Command location?

For example, can my opponent play the steal an object card even though it says "play at the start of your turn, before you move.: He isn't moving so can he play it or because he is not moving he can play it? It might be semantics but we were curious. Thanks for any responses.

Hi Rogue 4,

you have a reasonable doubt here. The FAQ gave us the answer a long time ago, but it is quite convoluted and a general ruling would be welcome. Check the FAQ here:

http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/ffg_content/Talisman/support/faq1-1/Talisman%20FAQ%201-1.pdf

In the section "Crown of Command", it is said that Temporal Warp Spell can be cast by a character on the Crown of Command. Having the same casting condition of Acquisition, you can safely assume that every Spell with the casting condition "Cast at the start of your turn, before you move" can be cast while on the Crown.

On the other hand, at page 2 the FAQ says:

If a character cannot move or must test to see if he is able to move (such being Enslaved at the Temple, for example), he cannot use any movement effects. Note that characters on the Crown of Command do not move and therefore cannot use any movement effects.

But this is not enough to say that you can't cast a Spell with that casting condition while on the Crown. The wording was not really good and it was abandoned after the first expansion (The Reaper).

Edited by The_Warlock