My opponent attacks with a TIE Fighter, I declare no defenders. He drops in Backstabber for 3 resources and destroys the objective. The problem is, he claims that Backstabber doesn't have to focus to strike (and could therefore join the next attack, if he wants).
I argue that because Backstabber is Ready (has no focus tokens), and participating (his ability says "as a participating unit"), he must focus to strike as stated in the "Resolving Strikes" section on p.20.
He says that Backstabber doesn't have to focus because he was never declared an attacker, he just sort of appeared after the fight started.
This will continue to be a thing with us until the internet tells us who's wrong. The same ruling presumably applies to Ackbar, Replica Droid, and any other unit that enters after units are declared attackers, right?