i know that the invader player is only allowed to play one spawn card during his turn, but is he able to play 1 spawn card and an event card during his turn?
question about invader cards
Yes, spawn and event are totally different cards. Invader player gets to play ONE spawn card and as many events as he wants
Does Doom have the same limitation that Descent has, of One card per triggering event?
-shnar
Wouldn't have a clue. I don't have Descent (though looking at some pictures of it I wouldn't want to buy Descent). Doom is better and that's good enough for me
*eyerolls*
I'm not suggesting that one game is better than the other, I'm asking if a similar mechanic exists between the two games or not. But let me explain it in a way the Descent-sensitive people can understand:
Each Event has a "triggering" action, i.e. play this card when something happens. When you activate a model, when you make an attack, when the Marine opens a door, etc. My question is, are you limited to only playing one of these cards per triggering action, or can you play as many cards as you have?
-shnar
As far as I know the one event card per triggering event has only been introduced in Descent, and if i remember correctly it ws originally in an FAQ which was later put into the expansion rulebooks.
So yes,in doom you can play as many cards as you have per triggering event.
If this causes any problems with you, play with the descent rule.
By the way I enjoy both games and I find comparing them doesn't seem to go anywhere.
No, no, I was just curious since I know in Descent, it was "added" later, as you said. Having been out of the Doom circles for a while, I was curious if it was ever "added" into Doom. If not, great
Gonna be playing a lot more Doom here soon, specially play-testing the Advanced Campaign
-shnar
as far as i study rulebook etc. & bgg forum i'm sure there is no limitation in playing event cards but i'm sure that You can't play i.e. 2x rage or charge on one monster, rage plus charge is legal but no 2x combos.
stan_n1 said:
as far as i study rulebook etc. & bgg forum i'm sure there is no limitation in playing event cards but i'm sure that You can't play i.e. 2x rage or charge on one monster, rage plus charge is legal but no 2x combos.
You are right. It was never officially applied to DOOM {FFG has abandoned DOOM so don't try to explain everything by official means} but I strongly recommend to use this rule because many Invader combos become so nasty if you don't, that the game becomes un-fun {even for the Invader player}. Also I would recommend using only the expansion deck and not the absolutely mindless and overpowered basic game deck.
I use the Descent rule when I'm the invader, but that's just personal taste. I find combos like Charge + Rage feel a little cheap, especially with Maggots (move 10 spaces and attack 4x with red + blue). ^^
Knuckles Eki said:
Yes, spawn and event are totally different cards. Invader player gets to play ONE spawn card and as many events as he wants
...and in any order he wants, e.g. Spawn -> Smash, or Darkness -> Spawn.