Which one is your favorite, monster-alien? and which scenario did you enjoy the best?
FAVORITE BUTCHER ?
As i am the gamemaster/invader player all the time then it is logical that i like those monsters that have the highest defense as they're simply harder to kill for marines.
And scenario - everything with some added difficulty, like the third official scenario (it has a time limit for marines).
I like a hoard of zombies! One zombie...easy pickins. Surround the marines with three-or-four, each with the same attack dice as a shotgun...brutal! This can equal to a frag in a single turn. Sure, there are bigger and badder monsters, but lots of zombies are fun. They shamble at the marines from all sides. They're not that strong, so the marines can blast a few, but if they keep coming, getting closer, wave after wave, then the marines can find themselves as the main course.
Interceptor, what you said there has happened to me while playing vs an AI invader. (Yes, I played against my laptop, which I call 'The Director')
I saw the finish, I was 'yes yes yes', then the Director spawned 2 zombies in front of me and moved the ones behind me faster with charge. I got slaughtered.
Personally though, I like the Demons, since Marines can't run around them safely.
I love Demons, they're killer. No sneaking up on them for a chainsaw attack without getting some serious damage, and also their attack is awesome. I always manage to throw insanely good with them for some reason. 8-9 damage is my standard attack basically. One of my marine players always lets out a slight moan when I put one on the board
Scy800 said:
I love Demons, they're killer. No sneaking up on them for a chainsaw attack without getting some serious damage, and also their attack is awesome. I always manage to throw insanely good with them for some reason. 8-9 damage is my standard attack basically. One of my marine players always lets out a slight moan when I put one on the board
Same here
My personal record is getting two 10 damage rolls in a row, which resulted in a nonwounded 10 hitpoint marine being ruthlessly killed
Knuckles Eki said:
Interceptor, what you said there has happened to me while playing vs an AI invader. (Yes, I played against my laptop, which I call 'The Director')
I saw the finish, I was 'yes yes yes', then the Director spawned 2 zombies in front of me and moved the ones behind me faster with charge. I got slaughtered.
There is an AI Invader program out there??????
Download Link please?
Or your Director is from the future... I don't know...
FragMaster said:
Knuckles Eki said:
Interceptor, what you said there has happened to me while playing vs an AI invader. (Yes, I played against my laptop, which I call 'The Director')
I saw the finish, I was 'yes yes yes', then the Director spawned 2 zombies in front of me and moved the ones behind me faster with charge. I got slaughtered.
There is an AI Invader program out there??????
Download Link please?
Or your Director is from the future... I don't know...
It's not a program, but more like a set of rules that you do for the Invader. Printable from BGG, forgot from who though
What about the maggot? As the overlord, these son's of ******* are mean motor scooters, but as the marine player, these beasties are way overpowered in my opinion. Their dual attack ability lets them dish out some mega damage, plus, with watchful, they can get an extra attack in if you're not careful. Anyone else think these guys are overpowered? Also, as to the watchful attack...do they get a single attack with this ability, or can they use a dual attack...if they can use a dual attack with the watchful ability, I think these things would be more equivilant to an archvile or mancubus than to a demon IMHO.
I don't really find them overpowered... Smart marines can handle them well as they are somewhat weaker than the demon. Some good weapons and tactics, and maggots can be dealt with. My demons tend to live just a bit longer with their higher toughness and get in a bit more damage.
Interceptor said:
Also, as to the watchful attack...do they get a single attack with this ability, or can they use a dual attack...if they can use a dual attack with the watchful ability, I think these things would be more equivilant to an archvile or mancubus than to a demon IMHO.
"Figures with the double attack ability may attack twice when
activated." (p. 24, Expansion rules)
I think the keyword here is activated. Watchful doesn't activate an Invader, merely allows a free attack.
Dam said:
Interceptor said:
Also, as to the watchful attack...do they get a single attack with this ability, or can they use a dual attack...if they can use a dual attack with the watchful ability, I think these things would be more equivilant to an archvile or mancubus than to a demon IMHO.
"Figures with the double attack ability may attack twice when
activated." (p. 24, Expansion rules)
I think the keyword here is activated. Watchful doesn't activate an Invader, merely allows a free attack.
I agree. The Maggot gets only one attack with Watchful.
I also propose that you don't allow Rage to be played on a Maggot. This will bring it to the same level as its equivalent Demon. Otherwise it's overpowered.
###################
QUOTE
Dam said:
"I agree. The Maggot gets only one attack with Watchful.
I also propose that you don't allow Rage to be played on a Maggot. This will bring it to the same level as its equivalent Demon. Otherwise it's overpowered."
end of QUOTE
###################
well You are wrong, why, cuz watchful is an permanent ability/skill so sorry folks but no, easy to say - every monster got 1 attack, maggot got 2 cuz he got ability/skill so if You get close to maggot You will trigger the monster in watchful mode, You cant do something like 'in this mode You cant attack twice cuz this mosnter is too strong' - if You trigger.. your bad - 2x attacks, rage ? 4x, why ? cuz watchful has a reason - You have to watch and go around or maybe You wanna die.
1. demon
2. revenant
3. trite
4. zombie commando
stan_n1 said:
well You are wrong, why, cuz watchful is an permanent ability/skill so sorry folks but no, easy to say - every monster got 1 attack, maggot got 2 cuz he got ability/skill so if You get close to maggot You will trigger the monster in watchful mode, You cant do something like 'in this mode You cant attack twice cuz this mosnter is too strong' - if You trigger.. your bad - 2x attacks, rage ? 4x, why ? cuz watchful has a reason - You have to watch and go around or maybe You wanna die.
First off, I didn't even write what you quoted ('cos you attributed another quote to my name). Second, I don't think I'm wrong.
Double Attack:
"Figures with the double attack ability may attack twice when activated " (emphasis added)
"STEP 3: ACTIVATING INVADERS
After playing a spawn card (or not), the invader player may
activate
each invader on the board once. To activate an invader, the invader
player simply declares which invader is being activated and consults
his reference sheet. When an invader is activated, it may move
a number of spaces up to its movement score and make one
attack. Just like an advancing marine, an invader may take its attack
before, after, or at any point during its movement (see later).
After the invader player has had the chance to activate every invader
figure on the board, his turn is over. The round is then complete,
and a new round begins with the first marine player." (p. 7)
(emphasis added as well)
Seems pretty clear-cut. Activating is something that is done on the Invader's turn, Watchful happens as an interrupt attack on the Marine turn.
Heck, if you say Maggots should double-attack when Watchful kicks in, then you should also be able to play Rage on a Demon when it's Watchful kicks in because Rage uses Activate keyword as well.
well Dam thats interesting
well let say more about this. let me think -
- demon has 1 attack per normal activation on invader turn
- demon has 'special ability' 'watchful'
- 'watchful' reads: (...)make one free attack(...) - but there also (...)no limit to these free attacks(...)
-maggot has 'watchful' 'special ability' but also 'double attack' 'special ability' AND '+1 to damage' 'special ablility'
so
1. marine trigger maggot's 'watchul' - maggot make 1 attack without '+1 to damage' ? cuz '+1 to damage' is 'special ability' and if
it counts then 'double attack' should also counts like it was said about in 'watchful' -- no limit to these free attacks.
2. You cant use 'rage' card on maggot when triggering 'watchful' cuz 'watchful' is not an activation-thing its a 'special ablility'
and 'rage' is 'event card', which they can only be used during invader turn.
3. a marine is triggering 'guard order' to make interrupt attack - lets supose he had a shotgun - did he add 'special abilities'
of this shotgun to attack roll ? cuz '+1 to damage' and 'blowthru' ARE 'special abilities' and this is not his normal activation time.
ps. sorry for that earlier
problem.
!! -- supose that marine2 is getting into marine1 space - marine1 space is as we know in maggot (this time) 'watchful' reach -
in my opinion if marine2 get into marine1 space triggering maggot's 'watchful' and getting 2 attacks - invader have to separate them
into these 2 marines ---- 1> 2 attacks to marine1 || 2> 2 attacks to marine2 || or 3> 1 to marine1 and 2nd to marine2.
big thanks for Your help !
stan_n1 said:
- demon has 1 attack per normal activation on invader turn
- demon has 'special ability' watchful
- watchful reads: (...)make one free attack(...) - but there also (...)no limit to these free attacks(...)
Especially given that Watchful is a base game ability, I believe the no limit refers to those situations where a Marine moves past more than 1 square that the Watchful affects. That is to say, each square gets a free attack, not just 1 per Marine turn.
stan_n1 said:
1. marine trigger maggot watchul - maggot make 1 attack without +1 to damage ? cuz if +1 is 'special ability' and it
counts then double attack should also counts like it was said about in watchful - no limit to these free attacks.
But Deadly is not keyed to activation, instead:
"DEADLY
After
rolling for an attack
with the deadly ability, add +1 to the
damage of the attack for each deadly icon..." (p. 12, emphasis added)
As to the no limit, see first above.
stan_n1 said:
and rage is event card, which they can only be used during invader turn.
Event's only playable during the Invader's turn? It's a Trap:
"Play immediately after a marine has picked up an equipment token..."
Pretty hard to play during the Invader turn.
stan_n1 said:
of this shotgun to attack roll ? cuz +1 to damage and blowtrhu ARE 'special abilities' and this is not his normal activation time.
Again, those abilities apply to attacks, they are not tied in with activation. Double-attack is the only (I think, only did a quick look) special ability that is keyed to activation.
1. of course if u pass to another space demon could hit u cuz its still 'watchful' 'special ability' n there is no limit to these attacks.
2. im not talking now about "Play immediately after a marine has picked up an equipment token..." type card, im talking bout 'rage' or charge'.
3. You should say like earlier to interceptor with this same Q - expansion rules page 24
:) now its obvious.
thanks for Your help.
stan_n1 said:
2. im not talking now about "Play immediately after a marine has picked up an equipment token..." type card, im talking bout 'rage' or charge'.
But if Maggot is activated by its Watchful (in order to get the double-attack), then it would be legal to play Rage on a Demon when its Watchful activates. To me activate is a clear definition, taking place during the Invader's turn when he chooses an invader and move/attacks with it. Additionally, Double-attacks says "...may attack twice when activated. It still moves as normal" (or something along those lines). If double-attack would apply during Watchful, then some rules-lawyer could argue that the Maggot gets to move normally during the time it's Watchful kicks in.
ok, as i said earlier know i now cuz u help me, but now Quick Questions 02:
1. what about trite card - thick blast ? can i move with trite n then detonate or i cant move it ? its pretty hard keep trite alive near marine.
2. now all i need is a little clarification cuz rules dont say much about 'full damage' thing when implifying wounds. so my things is
when u hit a zombie [2 armor 2 life] with 4 so 2 thru 2 = 1, n again 2 thru 2 = 1 so total damage is 2. normal damage i mean.
in rulebook is example about 7 damage hit 3 armor with 2 hits so there is 2 wounds and 1 leftover. rulebook says that 'leftover' are lost.
so what is full damage in blast/sweep weapons ? whats gonna happen when i hit demon [3/2] with ie. 4 ? 4/3=1.333 so what gonna happen with leftovers ? its 2 ?
when i hit hell knight [4/3] with 7 ? 4 hit thru 4 armor = 1 wound then 3 hits thru 4 its not gonna happen
but rulebook stays ''1 wound for every increment of damage equal to the target's armor rating'' ... or maybe is it like :
when i hit someone with normal weapon - leftovers are lost,
when i hit someone with blast/sweep any 0.x damage is like 1 ?
so if i roll with granades 7 to 3 armor there is 3dmg to 3a = 1w, 3dmg to 3a = 1w (2 already) n 1dmg to 3a = 1w cuz its full damage ?
please help me. thank U
stan_n1 said:
ok, as i said earlier know i now cuz u help me, but now Quick Questions 02:
1. what about trite card - thick blast ? can i move with trite n then detonate or i cant move it ? its pretty hard keep trite alive near marine.
I play Tick Blast instead of the Trite's attack (so can move, then play TB). I agree, as written, it's pretty much a useless card. Then again, Trites have seen a lot less action than Cherubs, gotta love that Dodge.
As to damage, I don't think the type of attack makes any difference to how damage is calculated/inflicted. Leftover is leftover and thus lost. If you do 5 dmg on a Demon, tough luck. 7 dmg on a Hell Knight, noogies. In both cases the Invader only takes 1 wound, with the extra damage lost.
but when someone use words like 'full damage' especially in specific weapons there has to be some logic explanation, i doubt that every leftover are lost - so whats the point of using these kind of words in rulebook anyway ? i think it has some meaning :/ but im in dead end
You mean these?
"The blast attack deals its full damage to each figure affected by it."
(p. 12, under both Blast and Sweep)
Full damage in this case = # of pips you rolled. Say you chuck a 'nade and it hits a Hell Knight, Demon and Zombie. Say you rolled 5 dmg. You apply full 5 dmg to each invader individually, not spread the 5 dmg between the 3 invaders. So HK takes 1 Wound, Demon 1 Wound and Zombie dies.
To me, leftover is clear-cut:
"Note that any “leftover” damage is wasted. For example, 7 damage
given to a figure with an armor rating of 2 would still only
cause 3 wounds. This also applies in the case where a single
damage point is dealt to a figure with an armor rating of 2+; the
single damage point is wasted and the attack has no effect." (p. 8)
hmm now this gets me thinking
so now i think what full damage means, well i never divide this damage of course like u said, every figure gets 5dmg but now i think - this is it, thing is about every figure get 5dmg. thanx! n to think i play right n think about diff. problem
Dam help me crack this up - Quick Questions 03
seeking vs darkness fall -- marines stays in darkness, seeking does not need los, can they throw grenade to place more than 4 spaces ?
thank You.
stan_n1 said:
Dam help me crack this up - Quick Questions 03
seeking vs darkness fall -- marines stays in darkness, seeking does not need los, can they throw grenade to place more than 4 spaces ?
thank You.
I'm not Dam but I can help you.
Yes, you can throw Grenades when in Darkness. Grenades are your best friend.
As for the Tick Blast question above, I allow it to be played after a Trite has moved but I don't allow it to attack normally that turn {so that it cannot bite and then explode, as this would be overkill} AND it cannot use the Scuttle ability.
Thematically, Ticks were different monsters than Trites in the PC game and they couldn't travel by using the ducts. So, Tick Blast as I play it is essentially like a Misidentified card played on a Trite in order to use it's "equivalent", the Tick. The Tick is a monster that cannot use the ducts and it's only attack is the one written on the Tick Blast card!