Force weapons special power

By Skie, in Dark Heresy Rules Questions

Manifesting a free action power is simply a focus action that takes 0rounds, and anyway you turn this you cant around thats it is a focus action, and thus prevents you to make a attack.

The funny thing is that they use the half action (focus action) in the example, which only adds to the confusion. I understand they didn't use full action, because that goes without saying, but because of the half action example, it is a valid interpretation that free actions will not count as attack. But should off course count against only one power manifest per round.

But as written in the errata right now, the psyker is limited to only one power (free action or otherwise) or a standard attack per round.

One of the guys writing these rules actually answered this problem a while back at dark reign, and said that it only applied to half action focus. But I guess they either didn't agree on this or are waiting for something else, because nothing official has come out to clarify how it should be interpreted.

Cifer said:

The errata said that manifesting a power was to be treated as equivalent to a Standard Attack Action for what else you can do in the round. A Standard Attack Action is a half action. Reading into the errata that it isn't to be treated as a Standard Attack Action for all purposes of what else you can do in the round is a valid interpretation, but not automatic. Thus, your quote starting with "I believe" was quite a bit more accurate than your totalitarian stance right now.

It doesnt say anywhere that is counts as a half action. And even then, does it make any sense to you that I can full auto and use a power, but cant aim, shoot and use a power?

I said "I believe" to be polite, because the rest of you seem to all have accepted a wrong ruling from I dont know who, and I didnt want to come out and say you were all wrong without first explaining my case.

But none of you have come back with an answer to why you think that a free action counts as a half action, when nothing else in the game does, the errata doesnt say to change it to counting as a half action, and that it doesnt prevent all attacks like charges, just the normal standard attack.

Sarius said:

Manifesting a free action power is simply a focus action that takes 0rounds, and anyway you turn this you cant around thats it is a focus action, and thus prevents you to make a attack.

But you can still charge or full auto? Just not aim and attack?

Guys, sit down and think about it for a second.

But none of you have come back with an answer to why you think that a free action counts as a half action, when nothing else in the game does, the errata doesnt say to change it to counting as a half action, and that it doesnt prevent all attacks like charges, just the normal standard attack.

I already explained why I think it counts as a half action:

Making a Focus Power Action is the psychic equivalent of a
Standard Attack Action , and counts as such for purposes
of determining what else a psyker can do in a round
.

The properties of an action that determine what else you can do in a round are whether it's a half action and what the name of the action is. Both of these are assumed to be equivalent to those of a Standard Attack Action.

But you can still charge or full auto? Just not aim and attack?

Guys, sit down and think about it for a second.

I did, but you don't seem to be able to accept that your conclusion is not the only possible one. As has already been mentioned, several other attack actions lead into trouble anyway if you see them as different actions - especially with an auto-stabilised enemy capable of Full-Auto and Semi-Auto bursts within a single round.

Cifer said:

But none of you have come back with an answer to why you think that a free action counts as a half action, when nothing else in the game does, the errata doesnt say to change it to counting as a half action, and that it doesnt prevent all attacks like charges, just the normal standard attack.

I already explained why I think it counts as a half action:

Making a Focus Power Action is the psychic equivalent of a
Standard Attack Action , and counts as such for purposes
of determining what else a psyker can do in a round
.

The properties of an action that determine what else you can do in a round are whether it's a half action and what the name of the action is. Both of these are assumed to be equivalent to those of a Standard Attack Action.

Ok, so assuming you are correct, and it counts as a half action, despite being a free action, that means you can only do one other half action in the round. And that means that any full round powers only count as half actions, so you can do other things as well.

Cifer said:

But you can still charge or full auto? Just not aim and attack?

Guys, sit down and think about it for a second.

I did, but you don't seem to be able to accept that your conclusion is not the only possible one. As has already been mentioned, several other attack actions lead into trouble anyway if you see them as different actions - especially with an auto-stabilised enemy capable of Full-Auto and Semi-Auto bursts within a single round.

Now you are just making up rules to back up your claims. It says no where in those actions they count as a standard attack action. So you can use them and use a power.

Ok, so assuming you are correct, and it counts as a half action, despite being a free action, that means you can only do one other half action in the round. And that means that any full round powers only count as half actions, so you can do other things as well.

It counts as a half action for purpose of the "only one half action of a type" rule.

Now you are just making up rules to back up your claims. It says no where in those actions they count as a standard attack action. So you can use them and use a power.

I'm not making up rules - I merely say that if you see them as different actions, it would be legitimate for an auto-stabilised enemy to use them both in a single round.

Cifer said:

Ok, so assuming you are correct, and it counts as a half action, despite being a free action, that means you can only do one other half action in the round. And that means that any full round powers only count as half actions, so you can do other things as well.

It counts as a half action for purpose of the "only one half action of a type" rule.

It doesnt say that in the errata at all. It says "When deciding what else you can do for the round". You seem to be adding alot to it that isnt there "It still counts as a free action if it is a free action, but limits your half actions like it is a half action." I dont read that anywhere in the errata. Can you quote me a page?

Or we take what it says, that it counts as a standard attack action. So, it is a standard attack action, but its actual action speed doesnt change (because it doesnt say in there that it counts as a half action, only that it counts as a standard attack action) And a free action doesnt limit what you can do for the round.

And sorry, I dont have my book in front of me, what is an auto stabilised enemy?

It doesnt say that in the errata at all. It says "When deciding what else you can do for the round". You seem to be adding alot to it that isnt there "It still counts as a free action if it is a free action, but limits your half actions like it is a half action." I dont read that anywhere in the errata. Can you quote me a page?

It's an interpretation. "When deciding what else you can do for the round" would mean in its most literal form just what you said - that it would become a half action, whatever it previously was. Since that obviously makes no sense, one can either ignore the action type change altogether and assume it stays a free/full action for all purposes or assume that it it's treated as a half action for purposes of the "one half action of one type per round" rule. Both deviate from what the errata actually says.

And sorry, I dont have my book in front of me, what is an auto stabalized enemy?

Auto-stabilized is a trait. It means that you don't have to brace heavy weapons. Further, it also makes Full Auto and Semi Auto Bursts into half actions.

What book is it in? I cant seem to find it

Core rules, page 329 (FFG edition).

so. lets say you are using a force sword and have the lightning attack trait.

does this mean that you can only activate your force sword once per round even though you attack 3 times?