Simultaneous damage resolution

By WookieeRoar, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

If a card deals simultaneous damage to multiple units or Objectives (like Force Shockwave , or playing Admiral Ackbar during an engagement) and this damage doesn't conflict, but the order in which they are resolved is important, does point 2.8 of the FAQ (pg 3) also apply?

" (2.8) Simultaneous Effects Conflict

If the resolution of two or more simultaneous effects would conflict with one another, the active player determines the order in which the effects resolve."

Example:

All units are dealt 1 damage. One of these units has the protect trait and 1 HP left.

Can the player of the effect decide to first deal 1 damage to the unit with protect (destroying it) and then deal one damage to another unit?

Or can the active player (assuming the active is being dealt damage) first assign one damage to a different unit and then use the protect trait to prevent that one damage and destroying the protecting unit before it receives its 1 damage?

This was specifically handled in the FAQ, pg 9:

If my unit with the protect keyword and another unit take damage simultaneously from a single source, can the unit with protect take damage for the other unit?
The damage that is being dealt to the protecting unit by the source does count against the protecting unit’s remaining damage capacity when determining how much damage can be transferred. If the protecting unit is receiving terminal damage, it cannot take any more damage. If it is not receiving terminal damage, it can take damage up to its remaining damage capacity, factoring in the amount of damage it is being dealt directly by the source.

The answer is a little convoluted, so lets take a simple case: a Jedi Guardian with 1 Damage and Yoda with 1 Damage, neither contributing to the Force struggle. If the opponent were to play Force Shockwave - dealing 1 damage to both the guardian and yoda, the protector would not be able to take the damage from yoda as he is already receiving critical damage.

Conversely, if the protector has no damage, then it can protect Yoda, because the triggering event cannot deal it critical damage.

The damage is all applied simultaneously, not to each unit one at a time. When determining how much damage the unit with Protect can redirect, any incoming damage already assigned to them is considered. This is dealt with on pg 9 of the FAQ:

If my unit with the protect keyword and another unit
take damage simultaneously from a single source, can
the unit with protect take damage for the other unit?

The damage that is being dealt to the protecting unit
by the source does count against the protecting unit’s
remaining damage capacity when determining how
much damage can be transferred. If the protecting
unit is receiving terminal damage, it cannot take any
more damage. If it is not receiving terminal damage, it
can take damage up to its remaining damage capacity,
factoring in the amount of damage it is being dealt
directly by the source.

Edit: Ninja'd...

Edited by dbmeboy

Thanks. That makes it clear for the protect trait.

What would happen if we're talking about card effects that are triggered by destroying units or objectives? Do they stack? Or are they no longer resolved for any card except themselves?

Say DS plays an Aggressive Assault while LS has a Decoy At Dantooine and another objective with both 4 damage (out of 5 HP). Would the Decoy at Dantooine interrupt then trigger for both objectives at the same time, reducing the DS dial by 2? Or would the effect only be triggered for Decoy itself, thus reducing the dial by 1?

Refer to your quote in the OP. If the DS player plays it on the LS turn (i.e. the LS is the active player), it would be the LS player's choice. If the DS player plays it on their own turn they would choose the order of the objectives leaving play.