Two weapon wielder

By Nooblet, in Only War Rules Questions

TWO-WEAPON WIELDER
Tier: 2
Category: Melee, Ranged
Aptitudes: Weapon Skill or Ballistic Skill, Finesse

Intensive training allows the character to use a weapon in each hand when needed. When armed with two one-handed weapons (ether melee or ranged weapons), after making a Half Action Attack (this can be a Single Attack, a Swift Attack, or a Lightning Attack with a melee weapon, or a single shot, semi-auto burst, or full auto burst with a ranged weapon), he may make a single additional Half Action Attack following the same restrictions with the other weapon. (In effect, this allows the character to attack twice in a Round; once from each of their weapons). Both of these Attacks count as being part of the same Half Action, and both Tests made to attack with the weapons suffer a –20 penalty.

This Talent may be taken twice, each time with a different focus (melee or ranged). If a character possesses both Talents, then he may fight with one melee and one ranged weapon. When this Talent is taken with the melee focus it counts as having the Weapon Skill and Finesse Aptitudes, and when it is taken with the ranged focus it counts as having the Ballistic Skill and Finesse Aptitudes. This Talent may be enhanced by the Blade Dancer, Gunslinger, and Sidearm Talents.

This seems easy enough, but what is meant by "When this Talent is taken with the melee focus it counts as having the Weapon Skill and Finesse Aptitudes"? does a character actually gain the Finesse aptitude when Two Weapon Wielder is bought? I'd assume the logical wording would be, considering the requirements, "When this Talent is taken with the melee focus, cost is determined by the Weapon Skill and Finesse Aptitudes." Can I get a definitive judgment on this?

Edited by Nooblet

It means that when your character chooses this skill he either uses Weapon or Ballistic skill and Finesse to determine it's cost.

Melee - Weapon Skill and Finesse

Ranged - Ballistic Skill and Finesse

It means that when your character chooses this skill he either uses Weapon or Ballistic skill and Finesse to determine it's cost.

Melee - Weapon Skill and Finesse

Ranged - Ballistic Skill and Finesse

Okay, that is what I expected. Then the wording is crappy and should be changed for new editions. "Counts as having" is very different from "are used to determine cost."

No, I think the wording is quite clear. Talents and Skills have Aptitudes assigned to them.

I agree with Fgdsfg. That's not a wording I'd have expected anyone to have a problem with. Especially because the only sensible rule is very clear here.

No, I think the wording is quite clear. Talents and Skills have Aptitudes assigned to them.

And melee range cares if you have Weapon Skill, as this Talent has Finesse and WS, while pistols, etc. care about Ballistic Skill, and during this time, it has Finesse and BS. It MAYBE saved them a smidgen of writing, where they otherwise would've had to make a separate skill that does the same thing, with one word's difference, for the most part.