Counter spell
so in game play, the first spell is cast, the result is known, then the counter spell can negate the effects
Umm, no.
"Q2: Can a character cast Counterspell to negate the effects
of the Command Spell or the Random Spell after the player
has already rolled the die?
A: No. Counterspell must be cast before the die is rolled." (FAQ, 1.0, p. 3)
You can also find the ruling in the 1.1 FAQ, point of me picking 1.0 is that this ruling is 4 years old, should NOT be cropping up today.
just because it is in the FAQ doesnt mean that the FAQ is right, according to the wording on the card.
if the wording on the card was cancel a spell as it is cast, then yes i would agree that it should be cast before any roll is made, but as the wording is negates the effect, then the effect needs to be known before it can be negated, therefore it is AFTER the result is known.
The Counterspell may have been worded badly (it didn't change from the 2nd edition wording). However Counterspell has to be cast before any die roll has occurred. You can't wait until the conclusion of the Spell to decide whether or not to cast it! The simple fact of the matter is that John Goodenough & the rest of the guys involved in the design process have given us the answer in how it should be handled. Do as you will but FFG & Nomad no doubt agree on this issue.
just because it is in the FAQ doesnt mean that the FAQ is right, according to the wording on the card.
Then it is worthless to write FAQ documents, since they can't clarify/correct/amend what's is partially/wrongly/incompletely written on cards.
they can rewrite what is on the card on future releases and future print runs