Weapon mastery : when is the icon gained?

By igorusan, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

Hi,

I was wondering when the icon for weapon mastery is gained? At the time the event is played, or at the time of the strike?

To be more precise, I played a game in which I attacked a jedi player, who declared as a defender a character with 1 enhancement attached. He played weapon mastery right after the defender declaration.

I win the edge, I strike and discard with my AT-AT the defensive character's enchancement.

When he strikes right after, does he still have its icon gained from the weapon mastery?

Thank you.

I'm pretty sure he retains the icons gained at the time the action is played. It is similar to the example from a ruling that can be found over on CardGameDB:

" Example 1: I have a Guardian of the Peace with a Jedi Lightsaber and I use Echo Caverns to move a blast damage from the Guardian to a second unit. An AT-AT strikes and blows up the Lightsaber. The second unit retains the +1 (Blast Damage) until the end of the phase. What happens to the Guardian, or to the Lightsaber, is irrelevant once the Echo Caverns Effect resolves."

I think the most recent FAQ had a section that covered this as well, under icon modifiers or something of the sort.

I would concur that the icon is gained at the time it is played. To stop them, you would have had to play some kind of interrupt to stop the event card or enhancement. If all 6 steps resolve, in the end, the character would gain the icon, regardless of future weather conditions.