Conflict timing and the end of an engagement

By Fungusweed, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

Here's the situation:

I have the Executor and an Icetromper on the board. My opponent has a Wookie Warrior with a shield token on his board.

I declare an attack against my opponents objective with just Executor. My opponent opposes with his Wookie Warrior.

My opponent wins the edge battle and focuses his Wookie Warrior to strike. I focus Executor to strike the Wookie Warrior which only deals two damage to the unit and removes the shield token.

Question:

With both participating units exhausted and unable to strike, does the conflict end and skip straight to the end of the engagement? Is there still an action window after the Executor strikes in order to use the Icetrompers' Action to deal a damage to the Wookie Warrior, destroying him and dealing one un-oposed damage to my opponents objective?

Basically, if there are no more units that can attack, do you skip the next few steps that are shown in the 'timing' layout in the back of the rules and just go to "end of the engagement?"

You follow the flow chart at the back of the rule book, which looks like this:

Action Window

Edge Battle Winner Strikes, if able

Action Window

Edge Battle Loser Strikes, if able

Action Window

If all participating units are exhausted, go to Reward Unopposed step

Else go to top.

That's what I thought, but my opponent and I got into a debate about it because the rules for conflict and engagements earlier in the book make it seem as if you skip those steps of the flow chart when all units are exhausted.

I understand how that can be confusing. Consider the chart in the back to be the full description of the rules while the paragraph in the main text is more the basic introduction of how to play that doesn't quite cover all of the subtleties but does give you enough to get started and playing games.

Cool. Thank you for your assistance.

Also icetrompers can only remove an attacker, not defenders.

Aww man, imagine if they could remove defenders....

Also icetrompers can only remove an attacker, not defenders.

Also this. So while the timing rules would allow you to use the Icetromper there, the Icetromper card itself doesn't let you use it on defending units. You could use it on your own attacking units, but only if they're not vehicles.

An oversite on both mine and my opponents part, however the point of the question was the timing rules. Thanks again all.

Although, if you had another way to sacrifice it the Executer could have killed the wookie with its reaction.