Ruling for some cards plz

By DomaGB, in Talisman Rules Questions

Orb of Prophesy: I did find 1 thread that discussed this a bit with the dragon expansion so I added it there, but since I have other card questions I will put it here too.

The Dungeon rules state cards that are referred to as "Adventure Cards" can be used in abilities for Dungeon cards. The City expansion states it a bit differently and only says this is on in reference to drawing and not abilities. So if I understand this correctly the Orb works in the Dungeon but not the city, and if I understand the Dragon discussion does not work for Dragon cards either. I do not own Highland, and probably won't get it, but my friend does, does anyone know if it works there?

Closed Shop: I pulled this adventure card I believe in the Dungeon. Does this shut all places down in all boards, or only the board drawn in, or only the main board?

Wand: My son had this tonite. Went into the city, would sell a spell, get a new one, go back and sell it, over and over again. Now I know the main way to play talisman is a limited amount of gold. But there is a variant ending I believe where you have unlimited gold. But most of the time we play unlimited gold no matter what ending we have. Although he was the 1st to die among 3 of us, I thought this abusive and powerful. If there is no rule, I may have to house rule this to like only 3x in a row or something.

Idol: is this a may or must card? The Temple is a may, and the idol refers to the temple for rolling, but does not say may. it says roll 2 dice and pray.

Thanks.

Orb of Prophesy: I did find 1 thread that discussed this a bit with the dragon expansion so I added it there, but since I have other card questions I will put it here too.

The Dungeon rules state cards that are referred to as "Adventure Cards" can be used in abilities for Dungeon cards. The City expansion states it a bit differently and only says this is on in reference to drawing and not abilities. So if I understand this correctly the Orb works in the Dungeon but not the city, and if I understand the Dragon discussion does not work for Dragon cards either. I do not own Highland, and probably won't get it, but my friend does, does anyone know if it works there?

If you read the City rules carefully, the paragraph "Using City Cards" explains what happens both when drawing and when using special abilities and effects.

The general rule is: when you are in a Region different from the main board, all abilities and effects referring to Adventure cards apply to your current Region deck instead. Only Dragon cards received a different ruling (the reason of this is shrouded in mistery).

Closed Shop: I pulled this adventure card I believe in the Dungeon. Does this shut all places down in all boards, or only the board drawn in, or only the main board?

You have to tell me how did you manage to draw this in the Dungeon, but it clearly affects all Places on the board, so everywhere.

The Sorcerer shop, like any other shop or board space, is a non-dynamic encounter. This means you can't land there, do as the space says, do something else in between, and back to the space instructions again, etc...

Wand: My son had this tonite. Went into the city, would sell a spell, get a new one, go back and sell it, over and over again. Now I know the main way to play talisman is a limited amount of gold. But there is a variant ending I believe where you have unlimited gold. But most of the time we play unlimited gold no matter what ending we have. Although he was the 1st to die among 3 of us, I thought this abusive and powerful. If there is no rule, I may have to house rule this to like only 3x in a row or something.

The Wand gives you a Spell when you have no more Spells. OK. But the Sorcerer shop says that when you land on the space you can sell any Spells you have for 1 gold each. When you encounter the space you have 1 Spell, sell it and buy additional Spells for 2 gold if you wish. That's it. If you gain other Spells thanks to Wand, special abilities or other effects,you need to land on the Sorcerer shop again to sell them.

If you have Terrance Pet Follower, you could get to the Sorcerer shop, move 1 space next turn and then back into the shop again. This will result in selling 1 Spell every two turns, which is very far from being abusive and powerful. Without that Follower, it's very hard to encounter the Sorcerer shop again without having to go around the whole street circle.

Idol: is this a may or must card? The Temple is a may, and the idol refers to the temple for rolling, but does not say may. it says roll 2 dice and pray.

The Temple is not "MAY", it is "PRAY". When you land there you have to roll 2 dice and pray. Same goes for the Idol.

Edited by The_Warlock

Q: ... it clearly affects all Places on the board, so everywhere.

R:

You said "board" singular, do you mean boards plural?

Q: The Sorcerer shop, like any other shop or board space, is a non-dynamic encounter. This means you can't land there, do as the space says, do something else in between, and back to the space instructions again, etc

R: Although you didn't say it directly your response showed me my error. I forgot that while you can go either direction in the city (with shops), you can't go both ways in one move. My son was doing it every other turn. Now I know that can't be done, unless one can roll or move only 1. Less likely, but possible, and according to you it's ok. Since its less likely, I would have to let it happen.

Q: The Temple is not "MAY", it is "PRAY". When you land there you have to roll 2 dice and pray. Same goes for the Idol.

R: I didn't believe this so I went and looked. You are right, however, I play with the 2nd edition board, for the 4th edition play, and have a side paper with board changes and did not see this change. The 2nd edition board says may on pray at the temple. So in 4th edition, the temple guards force everyone to pray? How do they know the prayer is genuine? Is that really the rule?

Edited by DomaGB

If you go the the Temple you must pray, the same as you must visit one of the inhabitants of the City and Village if you land there. The idea is to reduce the number of times that characters can say "I go here and do nothing".

If you go the the Temple you must pray, the same as you must visit one of the inhabitants of the City and Village if you land there. The idea is to reduce the number of times that characters can say "I go here and do nothing".

reduce the number of times, so how many times can they? I recently learned that one can't in the city or village. One would think a temple is a place of sanctuary, where one can pray or sit and do nothing.

Q: ... it clearly affects all Places on the board, so everywhere.

R:

You said "board" singular, do you mean boards plural?

Closed Shop card says "board", but at the time that card was issued there were no other boards except the main board.

The Talisman board is rarely addressed as "board" except in the manuals, this card may be one of the few exceptions. There's always relation to the concept of "Region" when an effect needs to be restricted to certain areas. For the few cards that refer themselves to "board", you should consider the whole game board, not only the base game board.

However, consider this my personal opinion. You're asking for an official answer here. If you absolutely think you need it, send a question to FFG via the Customer Support.

talismanisland, on 04 Nov 2013 - 07:20 AM, said: snapback.png

If you go the the Temple you must pray, the same as you must visit one of the inhabitants of the City and Village if you land there. The idea is to reduce the number of times that characters can say "I go here and do nothing".

reduce the number of times, so how many times can they? I recently learned that one can't in the city or village. One would think a temple is a place of sanctuary, where one can pray or sit and do nothing.

Such reasonment doesn't help understanding the mechanics of Talisman. Of course a City, a Village and a Tavern are also places when someone could sit and do nothing, instead of visiting treacherous seers or get drunk.

What talismanisland probably meant to say is that the Revised Fourth Edition wanted to reduce the number of times a character can move to a space and choose to do nothing. Instructions on space must be followed when the space is encountered.

I agree that this logic is not clearly stated in the manual and text on board spaces does not help. You may argue that the Chapel and Graveyard are also mandatory for Neutral characters, who must pay Gold to replenish life/fate if they're able, instead of doing nothing.

Edited by The_Warlock

Q: ... it clearly affects all Places on the board, so everywhere.

R:

You said "board" singular, do you mean boards plural?

Closed Shop card says "board", but at the time that card was issued there were no other boards except the main board.

The Talisman board is rarely addressed as "board" except in the manuals, this card may be one of the few exceptions. There's always relation to the concept of "Region" when an effect needs to be restricted to certain areas. For the few cards that refer themselves to "board", you should consider the whole game board, not only the base game board.

However, consider this my personal opinion. You're asking for an official answer here. If you absolutely think you need it, send a question to FFG via the Customer Support.

talismanisland, on 04 Nov 2013 - 07:20 AM, said: snapback.png

If you go the the Temple you must pray, the same as you must visit one of the inhabitants of the City and Village if you land there. The idea is to reduce the number of times that characters can say "I go here and do nothing".

reduce the number of times, so how many times can they? I recently learned that one can't in the city or village. One would think a temple is a place of sanctuary, where one can pray or sit and do nothing.

Such reasonment doesn't help understanding the mechanics of Talisman. Of course a City, a Village and a Tavern are also places when someone could sit and do nothing, instead of visiting treacherous seers or get drunk.

What talismanisland probably meant to say is that the Revised Fourth Edition wanted to reduce the number of times a character can move to a space and choose to do nothing. Instructions on space must be followed when the space is encountered.

I agree that this logic is not clearly stated in the manual and text on board spaces does not help. You may argue that the Chapel and Graveyard are also mandatory for Neutral characters, who must pay Gold to replenish life/fate if they're able, instead of doing nothing.

Thanks folks!

Edited by DomaGB

Q: ... it clearly affects all Places on the board, so everywhere.

R:

You said "board" singular, do you mean boards plural?

Closed Shop card says "board", but at the time that card was issued there were no other boards except the main board.

The Talisman board is rarely addressed as "board" except in the manuals, this card may be one of the few exceptions. There's always relation to the concept of "Region" when an effect needs to be restricted to certain areas. For the few cards that refer themselves to "board", you should consider the whole game board, not only the base game board.

However, consider this my personal opinion. You're asking for an official answer here. If you absolutely think you need it, send a question to FFG via the Customer Support.

talismanisland, on 04 Nov 2013 - 07:20 AM, said: snapback.png

If you go the the Temple you must pray, the same as you must visit one of the inhabitants of the City and Village if you land there. The idea is to reduce the number of times that characters can say "I go here and do nothing".

reduce the number of times, so how many times can they? I recently learned that one can't in the city or village. One would think a temple is a place of sanctuary, where one can pray or sit and do nothing.

Such reasonment doesn't help understanding the mechanics of Talisman. Of course a City, a Village and a Tavern are also places when someone could sit and do nothing, instead of visiting treacherous seers or get drunk.

What talismanisland probably meant to say is that the Revised Fourth Edition wanted to reduce the number of times a character can move to a space and choose to do nothing. Instructions on space must be followed when the space is encountered.

I agree that this logic is not clearly stated in the manual and text on board spaces does not help. You may argue that the Chapel and Graveyard are also mandatory for Neutral characters, who must pay Gold to replenish life/fate if they're able, instead of doing nothing.

I guess the idea would be that the characters are adventurers, thus their nature would not be do nothing, and seek adventure, good or bad!

I guess the idea would be that the characters are adventurers, thus their nature would not be do nothing, and seek adventure, good or bad!

That should be the spirit, but the rules allow for any behaviour. It's not like other games where you can carefully evaluate the risks and rewards. Here you can be rewarded well if you act like a coward, against your alignment, just exploiting the rules to your advantage. For this reason the chances to be idle during your turn need to be limited.

Talisman has a classic fantasy setting, but it's not heroic fantasy. The players control "characters", which are not exactly heroes or adventurers. They can become heroes or fail miserably. Some of the characters don't have heroic traits (Priest, Merchant, Philosopher, Doomsayer, Tavern Maid, just to give some names) but they have to wander in a world of adventure.