2v2 common reserve questions

By MacRauri, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

How do cards like the Falcon like work if they're played from the common reserve? If I play my partner's falcon and use its ability does it return to *my* hand? And what about events? Whose discard pile do cards go to once their played?

I believe each player still has their own discard piles, so an event card you initiated would go to your own discard pile after resolving.

The common reserve can only have a card added to it if a player explicitly does during the draw phase. I believe you can play the Falcon's text and then it would return to that player that initiated the Falcon action.

Until FFG says otherwise, cards that say they come back to "your hand" come back to the hand of the person who currently controls the card.

In the case of Jawas, this means your teammate's Jawa can actually end up in your hand, if he lent it to you for one of your engagements, and you wound up losing the edge battle.

Micah

Until FFG says otherwise, cards that say they come back to "your hand" come back to the hand of the person who currently controls the card.

In the case of Jawas, this means your teammate's Jawa can actually end up in your hand, if he lent it to you for one of your engagements, and you wound up losing the edge battle.

Micah

I seriously doubt that. That would cause one of two problems... if you use the same sleeves as your partner, then you would both need to search your entire deck(s) for the corresponding card(s)... and if you use different sleeves, that's grounds for "marking cards"

Micah is correct. If it doesn't say to the owner's hand, it goes to the controller's hand. Given that the build-deck rules apply across the whole team (ie if one player has two of a pod, the teammate can't have another of that pod), both players in a team can always make up their two decks out of just one of player's pod collection. (Assuming fully invested. If not, get the same sleeves! Or don't worry about it and just play anyway.)

Also, there aren't really any effects that would give you any advantage for having a marked card in your hand. It makes it easier for your oppements to remember where the jawa is, but that's not a huge problem.

I wonder about the discard pile because it's going to matter for things like Binds All Things, Bantha or even Return of the Jedi. We've been returning cards back to the owner after they leave play, including edge cards, but I wonder if they technically should be going into the discard pile of the player who played them.

Well destroyed units definitely go back to the owner's discard pile (pg 23). Other forms of discarding are a little harder to peg down...

Pg 13 definitely describes it as going from the player's play area to that player's discard pile, but then it specifies that the owner is the one who decides what order simultaneously discarded cards are placed in the discard, which strongly hints that cards are going to the owner's discard. I suspect that is the intent at least, though it's worth trying to get a clarification.

I wonder about the discard pile because it's going to matter for things like Binds All Things, Bantha or even Return of the Jedi. We've been returning cards back to the owner after they leave play, including edge cards, but I wonder if they technically should be going into the discard pile of the player who played them.

After rereading the new rules, it seems like they go back to the discard pile of whoever played the card. Towards the bottom of page 6:

A player may look at a card in a teammate’s common

reserve and, at any legal time, use it as if it were in his

hand.

Using it as if it were in your hand should include moving the card to your discard pile unless there is something else I'm forgetting.

So assuming everyone in here is interpreting stuff right that means using "join me" and a bounce card of some sort a dark side player can end up with a light side card in their hand, or even find a way to get it shuffled into the command deck.

My guess is this gets errataed so fast that cards outside of play in some way or another always revert to their owner that it's not even worth playing with these "correct" rulings.

All cards go to their owners hand or other out of play destination but the effect still counts as fulfilled for the controller. This has already been ruled on. This thread is a couple months out of date.

Edited by Toqtamish