Map of Earnil

By CJMatos, in Rules questions & answers

After a few plays, i'm unsure if to play an event from discard pile using Map of Earnil's action need to be pay or not.

I am thinking that it should but want an opinio from the forum.

Map of Earnil reads:

Action: Discard Map of Earnil to play any [spirit] event card in your discard pile as if it were in your hand. Then, place that event on the bottom of your deck.

Yes, you must pay the event. All cards you want to play from your hand need to be paid, and "Map" reads: "as if it were in your hand".

But i also like what to say other people.

yes i believe this was asked when it was spoiled and the answer was that it must be payed. unfortunatly i dont think the faq has been updated since then so i dont have any references

rich

I also got an official answer for this one, and yeah you have to pay it.

" The Map of Earnil (and the other similar attachments) allows you to play the event card "as if it were in your hand" - that includes paying all costs. So, if you used Map of Earnil to play The Galadhrim's Greetings from your discard pile, you would still need to pay 3 spirit resources.

Cheers,
Caleb"

Edited by GrandSpleen

Thank you very much for que quick replies.

You should see more details on how to play this card in my official response's compiled document here : http://community.fantasyflightgames.com/index.php?/topic/92338-unofficial-faq-compilation-of-answer-from-around-the-web/

You can play second breakfast from your discard pile with the leaderhip archives to get it back, using a good meal to reduced the cost. (completly useless, but it's for what you can do).

If you play the Map with will of the west, the will of the west will go on the bottom and the Map will be shuffled back.