jackson howard trash ability

By ONEone78, in Android: Netrunner Rules Questions

i just thought about this while reading the recent blog on cardgamedb, does jackson howard need to be in play to use the trash ability? there is no trash icon on it which would lead me to believe that it could be removed from the game from hand or archives in order to use the ability.

if so then that makes this an even more ridiculous/excellent card...

Abilities on Jackson Howard (or any card) aren't active unless the card is in play. For the Corp, that means installed and rezzed.

Can you use the ability text on any other card from Archives (except those that state on access)? Of course not. The reason there's no trash icon is because you don't trash him - you REMOVE him. Like forfeiting an Agenda. It is no longer considered part of the current game, and doesn't exist any more for rules purposes.

If the card could be used from hand, it would have to state that because it isn't an Operation, and all other Corp cards need to be installed for their effects (exceptions like Snare! and Fetal AI make this clear in their text). Feesh is bang on. ;)

Edited by ODie