Mara Jade and Lightsaber - Committed to the Force

By FiendishDevil, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

With the lightsaber, you can have 4 units committed to the force? Need a rules check on this. Rules say you are hard limited to 3 force cards not 3 units committed. Also if she is equipped with lightsaber and is "committed to the force", she then receives two focus tokens for focusing to strike... correct? Wording seems to imply as such.

mara-jades-lightsaber.png

That's right, Mara Jade with this lightsaber would be considered committed to the Force and as such would receive 2 focus tokens when striking. As for having 4 cards committed, the rules say you are limited to 3 Force cards for committing.

As a rules stickler though, I'm seeing one problem at the top of page 15:

"After a player has attached all three of his Force cards to his units, he cannot commit additional units to the Force until one or more of his Force cards become available."

You aren't committing her to the force, she is "considered committed to the force". She has the traits (extra focus, add to struggle), but not the physical card.

As a rules stickler though, I'm seeing one problem at the top of page 15:

"After a player has attached all three of his Force cards to his units, he cannot commit additional units to the Force until one or more of his Force cards become available."

I don't see that as a problem at all. Even after you've attached three Force cards to units, you're not committing Mara to the Force if you attach the lightsaber to her. She is only considered committed to the Force in regards to effects that check for it.

Yes this would work perfectly fine and leave you with 3 force commitment cards unless you have already used some. You probably don't want to use one on her unless desperate and cannot get her saber out.

And yes she would be double focused as well which is why it is good she gets elite as part of the trade off.

I pity that man that can't get his saber out for Mara Jade.

So I'm still unclear on this. When it says she is "considered committed to the Force," does that include for purposes of the Force Struggle? So she'd add her 2 icons to the Force Struggle just for having her lightsaber? That's the way I interpret it.

So I'm still unclear on this. When it says she is "considered committed to the Force," does that include for purposes of the Force Struggle? So she'd add her 2 icons to the Force Struggle just for having her lightsaber? That's the way I interpret it.

She's committed for any and all effects that care. She'll add her 3 force icons to the force struggle if ready, receive 2 focus tokens when she strikes, and if using the Mara from Lure instead of from BotF she'll gain shielding, targeted strike, and elite.

I pity that man that can't get his saber out for Mara Jade.

Yeah, cuz she's pretty useless without her saber

I pity that man that can't get his saber out for Mara Jade.

Yeah, cuz she's pretty useless without her saber

I don't think you understood what he was saying.