Question About Dark Memories and Resources

By Majeh_XIII, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

I am not sure if this has already been brought up but i have to ask.

Dark memories: - Enhance an enemy Character unit.
Reaction: After enhanced unit has 1 or more focus tokens placed on it, deal it 1 damage.

For this example it is placed on Mon Motha who has 2 resources and 2hp. If as the light side player I place 2 focus tokens on Mon Motha to get access to these reources while she has this condition, do I actually gain the resources or do the resources fizzle out becouse she dies?

Firstly, since Mon Motha has a damage capacity of 2, if she is undamaged at the time you focus her to get the resources, she will not be destroyed because you just have to deal her 1 damage (the two focus tokens are placed at the same time since it is from the same source and as a single event, that is why the Reaction on Dark Memories reads: "has 1 or more focus tokens placed on it")

Secondly, however, if Mon Motha has 1 damage already, you focus her as a cost to get the resources, as soon as the cost is paid, the Reaction of Dark Memories kicks in and she is destroyed, so the effect (you get the resources) can no longer happen (i.e., you don't get the resources). My 2 cents.

EDIT: Okay, since there is another thread on this topic and my answer is different from the general opinions, please ignore what is said here.

Edited by Angus Lee