question about executor

By Frazio, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

I cannot figure how to search, so here we go.

Playing with executor what constitutes a card effect? I thought it was anything outside combat icons and my opponent thought it was only abilities like Smuggler Han shooting first or lando. I guess if you go literal its completely untouchable. Just don't know right call

thanks to all that respond.

A card effect is basically anything outside of combat icons that target a unit, enhancement, or objective. Card effects can be found: on event cards, on various units in play, on objectives, etc...

If the Executor is undamaged it cannot be targeted by any of these - it can only be targed and damaged by combat icons from units in play.

for example - If the Executor is undamaged and it is the first unit to strike against a Hoth Objective (with the play area enhanced with Sub Zero Defenses) it would not be destroyed because it cannot be targeted by enemy card effects until it is damaged.

Thank you for response

Actually, Sub Zero Defenses doesn't target a unit, so I believe the Executer would be affected by it.

Sub Zero Defenses: Destroy the first enemy unit to strike against a friendly Hoth objective each turn, after its strike resolves.

Executer: While this unit is undamaged, it cannot be targeted by enemy card effects.

So more specifically, card effects that specifically say they target an enemy unit cannot be used against an undamaged Executer. An example of this would be Heat of Battle:

Heat of Battle: Deal 1 damage to a target participating enemy unit.

If you need the "official" (the one above though covers it pretty well) definition of "card effects" it is in the faq, section 4.5.

As alluded to by other posts before me, the key thing to remember is that if the effect does not explicitly target, Executor is not immune to it. This is a precedent that all other cards with this or similar protections have been under.

Actually, Sub Zero Defenses doesn't target a unit, so I believe the Executer would be affected by it.

Sub Zero Defenses: Destroy the first enemy unit to strike against a friendly Hoth objective each turn, after its strike resolves.

Executer: While this unit is undamaged, it cannot be targeted by enemy card effects.

So more specifically, card effects that specifically say they target an enemy unit cannot be used against an undamaged Executer. An example of this would be Heat of Battle:

Heat of Battle: Deal 1 damage to a target participating enemy unit.

Ok so maybe I'm a little confusted because Sub Zero Defenses - to me - targets the first enemy unit to strike therefor if the Executor is the first enemy unit to strike then it is targeted. How would it not be immune if it's undamaged?

Target is a specific term. Sub Zero Defenses does not target, so Executor is not immune in this case.

Target is a specific term. Sub Zero Defenses does not target, so Executor is not immune in this case.

Actually, Sub Zero Defenses doesn't target a unit, so I believe the Executer would be affected by it.

Sub Zero Defenses: Destroy the first enemy unit to strike against a friendly Hoth objective each turn, after its strike resolves.

Executer: While this unit is undamaged, it cannot be targeted by enemy card effects.

So more specifically, card effects that specifically say they target an enemy unit cannot be used against an undamaged Executer. An example of this would be Heat of Battle:

Heat of Battle: Deal 1 damage to a target participating enemy unit.

Ok that makes sense now - sorry just took a moment to sink in =)

The only card effect that the Executor is immune to are those that specifically say "target an emeny unit" - correct?

If it doesn't specifically say "target an enemy unit" then the Executor is not immune.

Am I understanding it correctly now?

I'd boil it down to, if the card effect says "target", then the undamaged Executor is immune. Otherwise, it is fair game.

that makes sense - thanks for the clairification. sorry about the confusion earlier I forgot that "target" was a specific term and once you pointed that out it all clicked. :)

Thanks again

Ok that makes sense now - sorry just took a moment to sink in =)

The only card effect that the Executor is immune to are those that specifically say "target an emeny unit" - correct?

If it doesn't specifically say "target an enemy unit" then the Executor is not immune.

Am I understanding it correctly now?

This is a common problem for LCGs/CCGs. I don't mean this in a rude way, sometimes you have to stop thinking logically and read strictly what the cards say.

Also keep in mind that Targeted Strike does allow combat icons (a game effect) to target the Executor.