Let's say there is someone in the brig, can I play 'Executive Order' to have him move out without making the skill test, or is he only able to perform the skill test, as per location description?
Getting out of brig
As stated explicitly in the rules, you may not move out of the Brig without passing the Brig location action skill check. If you play Executive Order, the jailed my activate the location twice, however, trying to get out.
Sorry for activating an old message but it may help to someone else who was looking for same question, like myself? I found that you may only move a player out of brig, without a skill check stated on the location, is possible with Quorum Card, Presidential Pardon. You can only use once, then you need to discard that card (well, Quorum Cards may finish in the deck, so you need to shuffle them and make a new deck, and if president is lucky, he/she may draw card again, hence it is possible to use card twice in the game, just to be clear once it is used, it shall be discarded...).
And I believe, if president is in the brig, he cannot use this card for himself. some discussions point the bold area : "Move any other character from the brig to any other location on Galactica"
We play it that the only way out of the brig is by skill check.
Or presidential pardon.
Or if you are Felix Gaeta and take the admiralty as your once per game special and leave the brig.
Or, as is usually in our games... reveal as the cylon dog you are
An unrevieled Cylon is in the brig.
Someone plays Executive Order on them and they pass the skill test to get out of the brig on the first attempt and they move to some other location on Galactica. Can they then take their second action & reveil as a Cylon and take the actions on their Cylon card or do they stop all actions after leaving the brig and continue the action of the player that XOed them?
yetanothergamer,
There is no rule about the turn being ended or reordered when a player escapes the Brig. If the character gets out on action #1 of an XO, fulfill the terms of the action (including moving the character to a new location of the player's choice) and continue the turn with action #2. Hope this helps!
@Holy Outlaw:
Thanks for confirming that those darn Humans were cheat-...I mean mistaken in their thwarting of our evil plot
It won't happen again
No problem, yetanothergamer. Happy gaming!
Just noting here which was already used in FAQ latest release, because my friends made a quote from an old release (title is catchy and good reference to the question which is asked a lot).
bsg_FAQ_1-0.pdf stated following question and answer
Q: If a character is in the brig, and a card sends him to sickbay, is he moved from the Brig?
A: Yes
But this is not valid according to latest release of FAQ, bsg_FAQ_1-1-3.pdf
Q: If a character is in the brig, and a card sends him to sickbay, is he moved from the Brig?
A: No. This reflects a change from previous rulings
so don't you fall in mistake to use the old version too.