Nothing on the card seems to oppose this. Perhaps something in the rules I have overlooked?
If no limit, Devastator will make games very short indeed.
Nothing on the card seems to oppose this. Perhaps something in the rules I have overlooked?
If no limit, Devastator will make games very short indeed.
Reactions (and Interrupts) can only be used once per triggering condition.
Reactions (and Interrupts) can only be used once per triggering condition.
unless speificed otherwise, such as darth vader's reaction, which is limited to once per player turn.
unless speificed otherwise, such as darth vader's reaction, which is limited to once per player turn.Reactions (and Interrupts) can only be used once per triggering condition.
thx, i couldn't figure out why vader's ability was limited.......
Edited by bobafett012Thanks. I had completely missed that about only one reaction per event.
Really good news! Devastator is still a good card though
Thanks. I had completely missed that about only one reaction per event.
This is a misunderstanding of the rules. You can only use a particular reaction once per triggering condition, but you could use multiple different reactions in response to the same thing.
This is a misunderstanding of the rules. You can only use a particular reaction once per triggering condition, but you could use multiple different reactions in response to the same thing.Thanks. I had completely missed that about only one reaction per event.
It's worth point out that if you destroy two objectives in one turn, you can use Devestator (and the officer that comes in the same pod) on both, as long as you have the resources to pay for it.
What is the proper way to play executor's reaction if Aggression is played?
Aggression:
Action: Each player must sacrifice a unit, if able.
When(if able) both players sacrifice what is the proper way to dealing with 2 sacrificed cards on 1 action? Being in the Executor set itself, it seems it was designed to work twice to work best with Executor.
What is the proper way to play executor's reaction if Aggression is played?
Aggression:
Action: Each player must sacrifice a unit, if able.
When(if able) both players sacrifice what is the proper way to dealing with 2 sacrificed cards on 1 action? Being in the Executor set itself, it seems it was designed to work twice to work best with Executor.
This is a good question, I've tried checking the FAQ but only find that when "choosing" your target, the player who played or executed the effect goes first, but nothing about the actual sacrificing. Unless someone finds something else in the rulebook or gets an official ruling, I believe the sacrificing effect is simultaneous, so the Executor would only trigger once off Aggression.
Can anyone else chime in?
Question:
Could you explain the timing for Aggression and how it interacts with Executor
FFG Reply:
Here's how it would work:
1) Aggression is played.
2) Each player now has to choose a unit to sacrifice.
This invokes: 2.2: "If a single effect affects multiple players simultaneously, but the players must individually make choices to resolve the effect, the player who played or executed the effect chooses first, with priority then proceeding clockwise around the table."
So the dark side player, who played the effect, chooses who he will sacrifice first. Note that he is only choosing at this time -- the unit he chooses is not sacrificed yet.
3) After the dark side player has made his choice, the light side player chooses who he will sacrifice. Note that he is only choosing at this time -- the unit he chooses is not sacrificed yet.
4) Once all players have chosen who they will be sacrificing, the effect resolves, and all chosen units are sacrificed simultaneously.
5) The Executor may now trigger its reaction once for each sacrificed unit. It must resolve the first of these two reactions in full before initiating the second. (So it's basically: "Trigger in reaction to one unit being sacrificed, go through entire resolution, then trigger in reaction to other unit being sacrificed, and go through entire resolution.")
So, you do get to activate Executor for each sacrificed unit, and you don't pick Executor's target(s) until all the sacrificed units are gone.
...this combo is gonna be bonkers in 2v2.