Are shadow cards revealed from the encounter deck?

By Tracker1, in Rules questions & answers

I thought i read a while back that shadow cards were considered to be revealed from the encounter deck, although i could be making this up.

The reason i ask, is that i want to know, if i could use the one ring to cancel and replace the card.

Allowed?

This is what I read that got me questioning.

Not sure if it is lends support to my question above.

Q: Are shadow effects considered to be encounter card effects?

A (Caleb Grace): Great question. The answer is: Yes, shadow effects are card effects on encounter cards. Therefore, they are considered encounter card effects. That means while Crebain (Road to Rivendell #51) is in the staging area, you cannot cancel shadow card effects.

i dont have the rule book to hand but i guess it will say either 'reveal and add' or 'add'. therefore i think the way it is stated should give the answer

rich

shadow cards are dealt at the beginning of the combat phase, and then "flipped faceup" and "resolved." The word 'revealed' is never used in the rules, so you wouldn't consider a shadow card to be 'revealed.'


pg 18:

3. Resolve shadow effect. The active player flips that

enemy’s shadow card faceup and resolves any shadow

effect that card might have.

shadow cards are dealt at the beginning of the combat phase, and then "flipped faceup" and "resolved." The word 'revealed' is never used in the rules, so you wouldn't consider a shadow card to be 'revealed.'
pg 18:
3. Resolve shadow effect. The active player flips that
enemy’s shadow card faceup and resolves any shadow
effect that card might have.

100%