Magical Vortex and Enchant Blade

By artphobia, in Talisman Rules Questions

So I have a weapon that has the 'Enchant Blade' spell cast on it, and now the 'Magical Vortex' event card has come up... does it have any effect on the EB card since it's already been cast?

I'm assuming it doesn't, because it's not technically a spell anymore and just a glorified reminder/counter/marker. In our games we also leave the EB attached if the owners gets Toaded, drops the weapon, etc. I figure that's the usual way you all handle it as well?

Thanks

Edited by artphobia

So I have a weapon that has the 'Enchant Blade' spell cast on it, and now the 'Magical Vortex' event card has come up... does it have any effect on the EB card since it's already been cast?

I'm assuming it doesn't, because it's not technically a spell anymore and just a glorified reminder/counter/marker. In our games we also leave the EB attached if the owners gets Toaded, drops the weapon, etc. I figure that's the usual way you all handle it as well?

Thanks

Magical Vortex "absorbs all Spells from every character" and this could mean either "all Spell cards" (including Enchant Blade on a Weapon) or "all Spell cards in every character's hand". I would not extend the Vortex to Enchant Blade after it has been cast on a Weapon, but this is rather unclear and you're right to ask.

As for the Enchant Blade, it should stay with the Weapon unless the Weapon is destroyed/discarded. I admit that rules give no support about this too.

Magical Vortex absorbs all Spells from a Player's hand, not Spells belonging to Objects or Followers!

A weapon retains the Enchant Blade Spell even if ditched or another player takes it from you.

Ell.

Thanks for the clarifications guys. Perhaps the "Spells in all player's hands." line will be added to Magical Vortex if there is ever a reprint/revision someday. Not to mention I've been messing with Talisman-Prologue lately... love the new art for the Ogre, Lion, Hobgoblin, etc. Never been much for that mislabeled "Liger" card ;p