Is targeted strike...

By chiller087, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

Considered a card effect? I know it's a keyword, but are all keywords, or at least keywords that actually do stuff (like protect and targeted strike) considered card effects? I was digging through the rule book and the FAQ, and I couldn't quite nail this down to my satisfaction.

Micah

Considered a card effect? I know it's a keyword, but are all keywords, or at least keywords that actually do stuff (like protect and targeted strike) considered card effects? I was digging through the rule book and the FAQ, and I couldn't quite nail this down to my satisfaction.

Micah

I can't think of any situation where that matters, but I'd lean towards "yes."

Just wondering if Luke can hit an undamaged Executor with Targeted Strike.

Just wondering if Luke can hit an undamaged Executor with Targeted Strike.

Ah, well in that case it's actually a little more complicated. An undamaged Executor cannot be targeted by card effects, true. However, combat icons are explicitly defined as framework game effects and not card effects and, despite its name, Targeted Strike does not target. So yes, Luke can hit an undamaged Executor via Targeted Strike.

Ah, well in that case it's actually a little more complicated. An undamaged Executor cannot be targeted by card effects, true. However, combat icons are explicitly defined as framework game effects and not card effects and, despite its name, Targeted Strike does not target. So yes, Luke can hit an undamaged Executor via Targeted Strike.

Here's the text defining Targeted Strike in the rule book:

"When a card with the “Targeted Strike” keyword strikes

during an engagement as an attacker, damage from its æ

icon type may be assigned to one target enemy unit card,

even if that unit is not participating in the engagement."

So now my question is, does the word "target" in that sentence specifically indicate that Targeted Strike is a targeted game effect?

Micah

There is an argument here.

One may say that targeted strike doesn't target your enemy, but your own unit, giving it the ability to strike with it's unit damage a target outside the engagement.

I'd come down on the side of no. Compare the wording in the rules of trait and keyword. They're both card abilities. A trait has "no inherent effect, it grants the card an attribute". Similarly, a keyword is said to grant the card an attribute, which is said to convey a specific rule to its card. Similar to how the rules say what to do with combat icons, the rules say what to do with keywords. Unless there's something from FFG otherwise, I'd rule them as rules implementations therefore, not card effects.

Hmm, I misread targeted strike when I pulled it up on my phone last night, my bad. In that case, yeah, the Executor should be immune to Targeted Strike until it becomes damaged.

It'll be interesting to see if there's a ruling for FFG.

I totally see the argument, but I think that the "targeted" part of "targeted strike" is a red herring in this situation. I just think that Luke is targeting Executor through combat resolution.

I have a ruling from FFG:

Targeted Strike is a card effect, but it is a card effect that is affecting the card that has the keyword. The resolution of the icons themselves is a game effect and the "targeting" in the description is to keep you from being able to targeted strike nothing. So yes, Luke can hit the Executor. Full text:

Targeted Strike is a card effect, but it only affects the card that has the keyword, by altering the way that the unit with targeted strike can resolve its combat icons. When resolving those combat icons, they are still treated as a game effect, and resolve as per a normal strike, now with an expanded "scope" as to what they can hit.

The description for targeted strike *does* include the word 'target' to ensure that there *is* something to affect with the combat icons. You are not allowed to targeted strike nothing just to avoid using your unit combat icons within an engagement. (For example, if for some reason you wanted to avoid killing a particular enemy unit that was opposing you; there would need to be a unit not participating in the engagement for you to target with targeted strike if you wanted to avoid damaging that opposing unit.)
To the question that was raised on the forums, Luke, or any other unit with targeted strike, *would* be able to target the Executor with their unit damage icons using targeted strike.

--
Erik Dahlman
Associate LCG Designer
Fantasy Flight Games

Glad to know the official ruling, thanks dbmeboy!