Prophesy and Fiend Slayer

By cailus2, in Talisman Rules Questions

If a Character has the Fiend Slayer as a Follower ("If you encounter a space with instructions to draw one of more Adventure Cards, you must draw one more card than requires") and then the Prophesy Adenture Card is played (which has the same instructions), on a space where the Character would draw one card, would he draw two extra cards?

As I read it, I would say that similiar to Monk not being able to use the Psionic Blast spell, that they would only draw only one extra Adventure Card but I'm not 100% sure.

Cailus said:

If a Character has the Fiend Slayer as a Follower ("If you encounter a space with instructions to draw one of more Adventure Cards, you must draw one more card than requires") and then the Prophesy Adenture Card is played (which has the same instructions), on a space where the Character would draw one card, would he draw two extra cards?

As I read it, I would say that similiar to Monk not being able to use the Psionic Blast spell, that they would only draw only one extra Adventure Card but I'm not 100% sure.

Yes, But keep in mind how many cards they are on the space itself

If you are on a draw 1 space, and there is only one card, you can draw 2 extra cards, but if you come on a draw 1 space and they are 2 cards, you can only draw one more card.

Cailus said:

As I read it, I would say that similiar to Monk not being able to use the Psionic Blast spell, that they would only draw only one extra Adventure Card but I'm not 100% sure.

This point seems correct; effects usually cumulate in Talisman, except Weapon and Armour Objects (there's a specific rule about them) and Character Special Abilities, which have been subject to many discussions. Monk can't use Psionic Blast (and Warhorse, but I don't like this last limitation), Prophetess can't use Orb of Knowledge, Wizard can't use Wand, etc...

So don't compare effect stacking with Characters' Special Abilites stacking; it's not the same. Prophesy and Fiend Slayer work well together, if you can survive to such "card surges".

Unfortunately you are incorrect. These effects do not stack. Just like the effects of the Haunt and Jester.

Ell.

if an effect has an activation such an t he orb of knowledge, and prophetess, ten both effects can be triggered, example

1 draw a card propetess and orb triggers, (players choice as to what triggers first) can discard the first card using propetess ablility, then if dont like that card, then the orb ability triggers

same would go for drawing extra cards, both effects would trigger on the one drawing

Most of the reply's above are old rules.

The monk may use psyonic blast and warhorse together with his inner belief.

Prophetess can indeed use her ability and the orb afterwards.

this topic is already 2 years old lengua.gif

Holy thread necromancy, Batman!

Yes the answers are old. That was the original way of playing the game. It was decided by FFG that all effects would stack in the new version of the game!

Ell.