Rules questions - Redemption/There Is No Escape/Combat Phase

By szyby, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

Hello there,

I recently got the core set and we've already played two games with my girlfriend. As we're just getting to know the game, we came across a few questions. Any help would be appreciated :)

1) There Is No Escape - Play only during any player's Force phase. Action: Return all units in play to the bottom of their owners' decks in random order.

Does it mean that all units which have already been played and are on the table BOTH on my as well as the opponent's side go back to the deck?

2) Redemption - Interrupt: When a Character unit is destroyed, return it to its owner's hand instead of placing it in its owner's discard pile. (Limit once per turn.)

Does it refer to all character units on BOTH sides of the force or just the ones destroyed by Redemption?

3) What if there's a tie in priority of fate cards? This didn't happen to us and I didn't check if that's even possible - just asking out of curiosity.

Some misunderstanding of the combat phase, please clarify for me what happens in the following scenario. Light Side is the attacker. The only unit is Guardian of Peace (1 unit damage, no blast damage icons). Dark Side's only unit is Darth Vader (2 unit damage icons, 2 blast damage icons). I have following questions about this situation:

4) Can LS declare an attack against an objective, even without blast damage icons?

5) If DS wins edge, strikes first and Vader destroys Guardian of Peace, can Vader still use blast icons to attack and LS objective, even though DS is not the active player this turn?

Hello there,

I recently got the core set and we've already played two games with my girlfriend. As we're just getting to know the game, we came across a few questions. Any help would be appreciated :)

1) There Is No Escape - Play only during any player's Force phase. Action: Return all units in play to the bottom of their owners' decks in random order.

Does it mean that all units which have already been played and are on the table BOTH on my as well as the opponent's side go back to the deck?

Yes, all units on both sides leave play.

2) Redemption - Interrupt: When a Character unit is destroyed, return it to its owner's hand instead of placing it in its owner's discard pile. (Limit once per turn.)

Does it refer to all character units on BOTH sides of the force or just the ones destroyed by Redemption?

This does refer to units on both sides of the force, but it is not a forced reaction, so the light side player gets to choose when to use it. It has nothing to do with character units destroyed by the Redemption, it is used by the light side player to return to hand his characters that would be destroyed.

Example: Luke just got destroyed by Vader in a conflict, the light side player may interrupt, and send Luke back to hand instead of the discard pile. The Redemption does not have to be participating in the conflict to use its ability.

3) What if there's a tie in priority of fate cards? This didn't happen to us and I didn't check if that's even possible - just asking out of curiosity.

The light side and dark side have differently numbered fate cards.

Some misunderstanding of the combat phase, please clarify for me what happens in the following scenario. Light Side is the attacker. The only unit is Guardian of Peace (1 unit damage, no blast damage icons). Dark Side's only unit is Darth Vader (2 unit damage icons, 2 blast damage icons). I have following questions about this situation:

4) Can LS declare an attack against an objective, even without blast damage icons?

Yes, you can declare an attack with a unit with no icons at all. Even a unit with no icons must focus to strike if in a conflict, and if it is unopposed, you still get the damage bonus to the objective at the end of the conflict.

5) If DS wins edge, strikes first and Vader destroys Guardian of Peace, can Vader still use blast icons to attack and LS objective, even though DS is not the active player this turn?

No, blast icons have no effect when defending.

Awesome, thanks a lot. This clarifies everything for now and will be a great help to us! Cheers!

Also worth mentioning that in the Fate card question you posted that if a tie were to occur the active player (usually the attacker) always decides the order of simultaneous effects and has the first opportunity to react/interrupt. So if/when there are situations where fate cards have the same number, it is up to the active player on the order to resolve them.

DS Fate cards have even numbers and LS Fate cards have odd numbers for exactly this reason.