Various Questions

By The Hunter, in Talisman Rules Questions

Currently going through my boards and cards and will raise questions that come up.

The Dwarf

His ability allows him to choose not to roll the die in the Chasm.

Does this only apply to himself or can it apply to any followers.

(The PC Prologue game only allows this option for the character).

Any answer I assume also applies to the Highlander.

Edited by The Hunter

The Vampiress

When visiting the Graveyard, if she chooses to heal her life, can she also encounter the space?

If so, if she becomes good, would she heal her life first, then lose a life?

The Priest and Cleric

They can destroy spirits without resorting to psychic battles.

What about board and alternate ending characters that use both strength and craft (The Lord of Darkness, The Eagle King,The Demon Lord, The Ice Queen)? Also non-spirit creatures that use strength and/or craft?

Can they destroy them, or must they resort to fighting?

Warlock Quests

Visit the Alchemist

In the unlikely event of not having any objects, can you still visit him when you land on the City, or do you have to acquire an object first?

Spells

Spells the say "cast on any character".

Can you cast this on yourself if you choose to do so?

Purchase Deck Items

If these get discarded, do they go back to the Purchase Deck or are they put to one side and out of play?

Does the same apply to the Talisman cards?

Misfortune Spell

When this is cast, the die roll becomes a 1.

Can the player who "rolled" the die be able to move the Reaper even if no physical die got rolled?

What about spells/abilities/objects that let you choose to move one space when you roll a die?

The Redeemer

"The first good character who visits the Redeemer gains all of the fate placed on this card, then the Redeemer departs to the discard pile"

If a good character draws this card, or there is no fate in the unlikely event that an evil or neutral character had not fate to lose when this was drawn, would the Redeemer still go to the discard pile?

The Hag follower

The card says "all other followers immediately leave you - discard them" which implies they go to the discard pile yet on Prologue, they are ditched on the space.

What actually happens to the other followers if you come across the Hag?

The Altar

If you roll a 6 the result is to immediately take another turn.

But in one game, we drew the altar on a draw 3 cards space and the Altar was drawn before another place card (a Stables).

If you roll a 6, can you still visit the other place or is that to be ignored?

Discordant Dirge

Does this apply to discarded enemies from the expansions (Highland, Dungeon) or just the main Adventure deck?

Eagle's Nest

In the unlikely event that there are no Talismans left in the Talisman deck (most likely to happen in a 5 or 6 player game), what happens to the Eagle's Nest card?

Walking Stick

If you roll a 1 and use the stick to move 2 spaces, can you roll the die for the Reaper and Werewolf?

Oh my, did you have to write one question per message????

We're lucky that the new forums have MultiQuote feature. However, most of your questions are meaningful and interesting too.

Currently going through my boards and cards and will raise questions that come up.

The Dwarf

His ability allows him to choose not to roll the die in the Chasm.

Does this only apply to himself or can it apply to any followers.

(The PC Prologue game only allows this option for the character).

Any answer I assume also applies to the Highlander.

Interesting question, a very basic one that never gets much attention because nobody rolls at the Chasm in Talisman games.

Normally when a character is immune to a space his possessions share the same immunity. What happens in Talisman Prologue game can just be wrong, but you're right to ask.

The Vampiress

When visiting the Graveyard, if she chooses to heal her life, can she also encounter the space?

If so, if she becomes good, would she heal her life first, then lose a life?

Yes, she gets to visit the space as well.The current FAQ says that when two effects happen at the same time, the playing character decides the order of resolving them. She can lose one life first and then heal up to her life value, or vice versa if appropriate (i.e. when she has only 1 life left).

The Priest and Cleric

They can destroy spirits without resorting to psychic battles.

What about board and alternate ending characters that use both strength and craft (The Lord of Darkness, The Eagle King,The Demon Lord, The Ice Queen)? Also non-spirit creatures that use strength and/or craft?

Can they destroy them, or must they resort to fighting?

Spirits are cards whose card type is "Enemy-Spirit".

Warlock Quests

Visit the Alchemist

In the unlikely event of not having any objects, can you still visit him when you land on the City, or do you have to acquire an object first?

You can't visit the Alchemist if you have no Objects to turn into Gold, so you need an Object first.

Spells

Spells the say "cast on any character".

Can you cast this on yourself if you choose to do so?

Yes, otherwise they would have "cast on another character".

Purchase Deck Items

If these get discarded, do they go back to the Purchase Deck or are they put to one side and out of play?

Does the same apply to the Talisman cards?

Yes, they get back to their respective decks. That's specifically written in the Rulebook, page 16.

Misfortune Spell

When this is cast, the die roll becomes a 1.

Can the player who "rolled" the die be able to move the Reaper even if no physical die got rolled?

What about spells/abilities/objects that let you choose to move one space when you roll a die?

If Misfortune is cast on a movement roll, then yes, you can move the Reaper.

When you move a space instead of rolling the die for movement, you cannot move the Reaper.

The Redeemer

"The first good character who visits the Redeemer gains all of the fate placed on this card, then the Redeemer departs to the discard pile"

If a good character draws this card, or there is no fate in the unlikely event that an evil or neutral character had not fate to lose when this was drawn, would the Redeemer still go to the discard pile?

The Redeemer (Renegade and Ritual Master as well) applies his text only to the character who encounters him. Others are affected only if they land on the Stranger. So, if a Good character draws Redeemer the card is immediately discarded with no effect. But this could need a FAQ since the card wording is incomplete.

Edited by The_Warlock

The Hag follower

The card says "all other followers immediately leave you - discard them" which implies they go to the discard pile yet on Prologue, they are ditched on the space.

What actually happens to the other followers if you come across the Hag?

Prologue is wrong, sorry. You have to discard them

While you have the Hag you can't have Followers. They stay on the space where you find them.

The Altar

If you roll a 6 the result is to immediately take another turn.

But in one game, we drew the altar on a draw 3 cards space and the Altar was drawn before another place card (a Stables).

If you roll a 6, can you still visit the other place or is that to be ignored?

I would say yes, you take another turn immediately after the current one.

Discordant Dirge

Does this apply to discarded enemies from the expansions (Highland, Dungeon) or just the main Adventure deck?

It depends where the Event is drawn, but I can't figure out a situation when it is drawn in a corner Region. So it will affect only the Adventure Deck discard pile (the wording speaks of a single pile, not many piles).

Eagle's Nest

In the unlikely event that there are no Talismans left in the Talisman deck (most likely to happen in a 5 or 6 player game), what happens to the Eagle's Nest card?

It stays there until somebody can collect a Talisman.

Walking Stick

If you roll a 1 and use the stick to move 2 spaces, can you roll the die for the Reaper and Werewolf?

Of course yes, it's the roll that counts, not the spaces you move.

Edited by The_Warlock

Q: It depends where the Event is drawn, but I can't figure out a situation when it is drawn in a corner Region. So it will affect only the Adventure Deck discard pile (the wording speaks of a single pile, not many piles).

R: This statement made me think of a recent question I posed:

Closed Shop: I pulled this adventure card I believe in the Dungeon. Does this shut all places down in all boards, or only the board drawn in, or only the main board? The card states "board" singular.

Q: It depends where the Event is drawn, but I can't figure out a situation when it is drawn in a corner Region. So it will affect only the Adventure Deck discard pile (the wording speaks of a single pile, not many piles).

R: This statement made me think of a recent question I posed:

Closed Shop: I pulled this adventure card I believe in the Dungeon. Does this shut all places down in all boards, or only the board drawn in, or only the main board? The card states "board" singular.

And what are your thoughts? Do you think those questions have something to share?

It's nice to figure out an answer to these questions just because this game is so nice and I like exploring the intricacies, but I also want to know how do you manage to draw Closed Shop (and the Discordant Dirge in th OP) in the Dungeon.

Q: It depends where the Event is drawn, but I can't figure out a situation when it is drawn in a corner Region. So it will affect only the Adventure Deck discard pile (the wording speaks of a single pile, not many piles).

R: This statement made me think of a recent question I posed:

Closed Shop: I pulled this adventure card I believe in the Dungeon. Does this shut all places down in all boards, or only the board drawn in, or only the main board? The card states "board" singular.

And what are your thoughts? Do you think those questions have something to share?

It's nice to figure out an answer to these questions just because this game is so nice and I like exploring the intricacies, but I also want to know how do you manage to draw Closed Shop (and the Discordant Dirge in th OP) in the Dungeon.

Someone asked me this before, and I am not certain if I did or how. So I went and asked my son, he claims I was on the main board (but he also says it may have been in the city, but NOT the dungeon), if true, and my memory failed me, I was fairly certain I was NOT on the main board. Hopefully this can now go away, tho it is still strange it says board singular.

As for Discordant Dirge, its another similar badly written card. Perhaps we should treat it like the Prophetess, and that it affects all decks except Dragon.

Edited by DomaGB

There are often cards that are not 100% clear. They might have felt good at the time of their release and then became obsolete (Closed Shop is a good example); some are just badly worded because the available space for text was too small.

There's no reason to apply Discordant Dirge to all availble decks. Based on the incomplete text of the card, it seems more in line to consider only the deck used in the Region the Dirge was drawn.