Chewbacca and shields

By husserl, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

Another Chewie question here. Had a bit of a look in the rules and online but couldn't find the answer.

If Chewbacca has a shield on him and he either takes damage directly, or uses the protect ability, and there is an engagement going on, does the removing of the shield cause his reaction to go off? In other words, does he take damage?

I understand that if the shield is removed for other reasons, i.e. to stop a tactics, it wouldn't.

I am leaning towards yes but couldn't find it spelt out anywhere.

Cheers,

Husserl

Edited by husserl

People can tell me if I am wrong here but I believe that taking damage by any means means whether it came from a heat of battle, targeted strike, an attack within an engagement or an event card that Chewbacca is still considered to have been dealt damage. I believe the phrase dealt damage is considered to be when damage is assigned to a specific card. Okay, if anyone can explain it better or tell me I'm incorrect now is the time to do it. :D

I agree but the issue is still the shields and whether they have a special ability that means that the unit is actually prevented from taking damage . That is the unclear part.

Well with this game, when in doubt consult the rulebook. Page 23 under the subheading Using Shields is the only area that really talks about what a shield does.

"A player may discard a card's shield token to prevent one damage or one focus token that would be placed on the shielded card by an attack or an enemy effect (i.e. it cannot prevent damage and focus tokens placed by its controller's costs or effects)."

The rulebook clearly states it prevents damage or a focus token but only ones that come from an enemy.

Edited by GroggyGolem

The rulebook also says assign damage in the examples of engagements but when the rulebook explains unit damage, it says that the striking player deals damage. Chewbacca's card uses the phrase dealt damage. So the question is whether an opponent assigning damage to Chewbacca, whether he has a shield or not denotes him being dealt damage and causing Chewbacca's reaction to happen. I swear there was a thread in this forum about Boba Fett's reaction and shields... I would imagine if you could find that thread it would also answer your question... Let me dig thru the forums a bit to find it.

It is that line from the rulebook "prevent one damage" that lead me to post on this forum :D

Edited by husserl

This is usually why I search the forums before posting a question as we've usually gone over all the questions people have about this game already.

Great thanks, your google-fu is better than mine. Might still send that one for an official ruling..

Yeah I understand. Better safe than sorry I guess. Let me know how it is ruled if you do. :)

can't remember which forum but there was a rules link answer from Nate that said damage is only "dealt" when the damage token is placed on the unit/objective. If all is prevented by an effect or shield, then it is not dealt to the unit/objective because it was prevented.

Though, if you choose to use protect (from Wookie Life Debt being out) and let the damage happen instead of letting it be absorbed by the shield, then you can use his response.

Edited by stormwolf27