What Constitutes "Paid Abilities"?

By CovenantPhil, in Android: Netrunner Rules Questions

It's been fairly well established that you can use abilities like Clone Chip or Personal Workshop mid-run. But my question concerns abilities that cost one or more clicks to initiate. I apologize if this has been answered somewhere, but my search-fu didn't find it.

For instance, if I'm in the middle of a run, can I spend a click and trash my All-Nighter to get that one extra click I need to get past that newly-rezzed Janus unscathed or am I out of luck?

Similarly, would I be able to pop Surge (via Same Old Thing, if not through the normal standard way to play events) after I Clone Chip a Parasite (with Grimoire active) to knock out the Wall of Static?

Another example that occurs to me is Crypsis. Could Crypsis use his ability to gain a virus counter before he powers up and breaks a piece of ICE? Normally I've only ever seen Crypsis get setup in advance, but per the definition of Paid Abilities (pg 11 of the rulebook) it seems as though Crypsis's ability to "[Click]: Place 1 virus counter on Crypsis" could be used in the same window he uses "1 [Credits]: Break ice subroutine" or "1 [Credits]: +1 strength"

Nevermind my wishful thinking. Pages 15 and 21 clarify that Paid Abilities that cost a click must also be considered "Actions" which excludes them from being useable during any mid-run "Paid Ability" windows. Page 11 failed to note that point, and that's where I got my initial information from.

Edited by CovenantPhil

Anything listed as <Cost>: <Effect> is a paid ability. Paid abilities that cost one or more Clicks are called Actions, and cannot be used during another Action:

Whenever the Corporation spends clicks on one of these

actions, he is considered to be taking an action and cannot take
another action until the current action fully resolves.

...

Whenever the Runner spends clicks on one of these actions, he
is considered to be taking an action and cannot take another
action until the current action fully resolves.
ADN Rulebook, page 12 and 15

The answers to your questions are no, no, and no.

Edited by etherial

From page fifteen in the rulebook under runner actions taken during the action phase:

Trigger a "click" ability on an active card (cost varies)

Good question tho, Made me think. This should mean you can only do these as an action during the action phase, and not in the middle of another actions resolution.

Heh, it figures. I read through the section on Paid Abilities (page 11) and it fails to mention that paid abilities that cost one or more clicks are also considered "Actions" Had it included that clarification I never would have gone crazy. :)

So much for that beautifully insane idea.